Eddie Higgins Trio – Don’t Smoke In Bed (2000) [Venus Japan] SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + FLAC 24bit/48kHz

Eddie Higgins Trio – Don’t Smoke In Bed (2000) [Venus Japan]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 59:34 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,43 GB
or DSD64 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front/Rear Covers | 2,39 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/48 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 870 MB

Veteran pianist Eddie Higgins’ celebrated trio album from 2000 features songs made famous by female jazz vocalists. In this drum-less trio, Higgins impresses with tasty and swinging interplay with guitarist John Pizzarelli and bassist Jay Leonhart.

Eddie Higgins has long been a part of the American jazz scene, though he has tended to be overlooked by critics and to a certain extent, record labels in his homeland. But the cagey veteran knows his way around the piano and makes swinging seem effortless, as on these 2000 sessions. Fortunately, the Japanese Venus label has found a steady market for Higgins’ CDs in Japan, where he has had many opportunities to record as a leader. This disc is a trio affair with guitarist John Pizzarelli and bassist Jay Leonhart, both accomplished musicians as well. Beginning with a strutting take of “Close Your Eyes,” which brings a fresh sound to this old chestnut, it is clear right away that the chemistry among the players is just right. Duke Ellington’s lush ballad “I Didn’t Know About You” seemed like it was destined to be overlooked, but Higgins is one of many who have offered shimmering treatments of this lyrical gem. The pianist contributed one original, “Brown-Eyed Beauty,” which has a George Shearing-like flavor; one can almost imagine Shearing’s quintet playing this lovely piece back in the 1960s. This album is full of standards and forgotten gems that are equally appealing.


01. Close Your Eyes
02. That Old Feeling
03. I Didn’t Know About You
04. The Night Has A Thousand Eyes
05. Something Cool
06. Where Or When
07. Day-Dream
08. Brown-Eyed Beauty
09. Black Coffee
10. Golden Earrings
11. Don’t Smoke In Bed
12. Too Marvelous For Words

Eddie Higgins – piano
John Pizzarelli – guitar
Jay Leonhart – bass

Produced Tetsuo Hara & Todd Barkan. Engineered by Ketherine Miller.
Recorded on February 18-19, 2000 at Current Sound in New York.
Mastered & Mastered by Shuji Kitamura & Tetsuo Hara.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # TKGV-3.

Ripped direct and unretouched using Pioneer BDP-80FD, Sonore ISO2DSD, and sacd_extract.





FLAC 24bit/48kHz