Eddie Higgins Quartet – When Your Lover Has Gone (1994) [Japan 2017] SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + FLAC 24bit/48kHz

Eddie Higgins Quartet – When Your Lover Has Gone (1994) [Japan 2017]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 62:57 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,53 GB
or DSD64 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front/Rear Covers | 2,49 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/48 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 766 MB

Eddie Higgins’s delicate tone and conception were often compared to those of Bill Evans, one of the most influential and successful jazz pianists. He mostly played bop and mainstream jazz music throughout his career. Higgins was at home playing melodies with groove and swing-like feeling without being too superfluous. “When Your Lover Has Gone”, originally issued in France as “Zoot’s Hymns”, the Eddie Higgins Quartet performs favorite jazz standards and originals on this consistently swinging set.

“Zoot’s Hymns” is a Higgins original that sets the tone for the album (of which many but not all of the songs were formerly performed by Zoot Sims); other highlights include “The Red Door”, “In Your Own Sweet Way”, “Hi Fly”, and “‘Tis Autumn”.


01. The Red Door
02. In Your Own Sweet Way
03. Zoot’s Hymns
04. Gabriela
05. Come Rain Or Come Shine
06. Waltz For Allison
07. Image
08. Hi Fly
09. ‘Tis Autumn
10. The Red Blouse
11. When Your Lover Has Gone

Eddie Higgins – piano
John Doughten – tenor saxophone
Phil Flannigan – bass
Danny Burger – drums

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by Michael MacDonald.
Recorded on February 3-4, 1994 at New River Studios, Fort Lauderdale, Florida.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-237.

Ripped direct and unretouched using Pioneer BDP-80FD, Sonore ISO2DSD, and sacd_extract.





FLAC 24bit/48kHz