Eberhard Weber – Resume (2012) [HRA FLAC 24bit/44.1kHz]

Eberhard Weber – Resume (2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44.1 kHz | Time – 47:18 minutes | 449 MB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: highresaudio.com | @ ECM Records GmbH
Recorded: Live recordings 1990 – 2007; Mixed at Studios La Buissonne by Gérard de Haro, Eberhard Weber, Michael DiPasqua and Manfred Eicher

Eberhard Weber played hundreds of concerts in his time as a member of the Jan Garbarek Group, and each of them included an extended feature for the bassist alone, often effectively a spontaneous composition rather than a ‘bass solo’ in strict jazz sense. For “Résumé” Weber has returned to recordings of these solo sequences and reworked them into an album with its own sense of flow. The unique sound of Weber’s customised electric bass is heard here mostly in the context of his own keyboard settings and treatments, but also augmented by the saxophones and overtone flute of Jan Garbarek (on three tracks) and by the percussion of Michael DiPasqua. Based on live recordings made between 1990 and 2007 at locations from Karlsruhe to Santiago, the album was mixed in the South of France by Weber, Manfred Eicher, Michael DiPasqua and Gérard de Haro in 2011.

On this ECM release, bassist Eberhard Weber has taken various solo pieces from live performances spanning 17 years with Jan Garbarek, rearranged them, and added other instruments to create new compositions. Since Weber can no longer play bass because of a stroke he suffered in 2007, the method he invokes on Résumé allows him to create new compositions and maintain his pensive creativity. Along with Weber’s electric standup bass, keyboards, and electronics, he enlisted the saxophones and flute of Jan Garbarek for the tracks “Tübingen,” “Amsterdam,” and “Bath,” and percussionist Michael DiPasqua on “Bochum” and “Lazise.” The live performances originally took place in Germany, Austria, Italy, France, England, the Netherlands, and Chile. -AllMusic Review by Al Campbell

1. Liezen 02:45
2. Karlsruhe 02:25
3. Heidenheim 05:42
4. Santiago 03:53
5. Wolfsburg 03:27
6. Amsterdam 04:20
7. Marburg 04:08
8. Tübingen 04:04
9. Bochum 02:51
10. Bath 04:33
11. Lazise 04:09
12. Grenoble 05:01

Eberhard Weber: electric double bass, keyboards
Jan Garbarek: tenor and soprano saxophones, selje flute
Michael DiPasqua: drums, percussion