Earthless – Sonic Prayer (2005) (Remastered) (2022) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Earthless – Sonic Prayer (2005) (Remastered) (2022)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 41:46 minutes | 515 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Nuclear Blast

Sonic Prayer, the band’s debut album, was released on April 26, 2005 by Gravity Records. It was recorded at Gravity Studios with producer Matt A. and mixed at Strange Sounds by Gars Wood.

“Flower Travelin’ Man” was named in homage to the Japanese psychedelic rock group Flower Travellin’ Band, and “Lost in the Cold Sun” as a reference to Cold Sun, an obscure psychedelic rock group from Texas.The band would have made the songs longer than their ultimate length of about twenty minutes but could not because the album was recorded on analog tape; drummer Mario Rubalcaba explained that the tape was not long enough to hold more material than that.

Allmusic reviewer Thom Jurek remarked that “Droning, thudding space jams are Earthless’ trip du jour, and they do it shockingly well.” He praised Isaiah Mitchell’s “stellar” guitar playing, Mario Rubalcaba’s “beat-heavy atmospherics”, and Mike Eginton’s “repetitive, hypnotic” bass lines while noting the Black Sabbath influences in “Lost in the Cold Sun” and calling the album one of the best in the stoner rock genre. The record received the award for Best Hard Rock Album at the 2007 San Diego Music Awards.

1-1. Earthless – Flower Travelin’ Man (20:47)
1-2. Earthless – Lost in the Cold Sun (20:59)