Eartha Kitt – Just An Old Fashioned Girl (1953-1959) (1956/2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Eartha Kitt – Just An Old Fashioned Girl (1953-1959) (1956/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 62:25 minutes | 901 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RevOla

“Just An Old Fashioned Girl” is a popular song written by Marve A. Fisher and best known in its 1956 recording by Eartha Kitt.

The song was recorded with Henri René and his orchestra, and was included on Kitt’s RCA album Thursday’s Child which she recorded between December 1955 and April 1956. Reviewer William Ruhlmann refers to the song as a “novelty… to exploit Kitt’s promiscuous gold-digger image, as she wooed millionaires and their money.” In 1958 the song was issued as a single in the UK, but failed to chart. It became a minor chart hit in Australia in 1963.

“Just An Old Fashioned Girl” became a cornerstone of Eartha Kitt’s stage act, as her popularity developed around the world at the same time as her novel and provocative image became less of an attraction to US audiences. It became her signature tune in Britain,b so much so that it is prominently mentioned in “The Cycling Tour,” a Series 3 episode of Monty Python’s Flying Circus. Some of the song’s lyrics have been included in directories of quotations:


1. Eartha Kitt – Let’s Do It! (Remastered)
2. Eartha Kitt – C’est Si Bon (Remastered)
3. Eartha Kitt – My Heart Belongs To Daddy (Remastered)
4. Eartha Kitt – I Want To Be Evil (Remastered)
5. Eartha Kitt – Just An Old Fashioned Girl (Remastered)
6. Eartha Kitt – Monotonous (Remastered)
7. Eartha Kitt – Beale Street Blues (Remastered)
8. Eartha Kitt – Lullaby of Birdland (Remastered)
9. Eartha Kitt – Under the Bridges Of Paris (Remastered)
10. Eartha Kitt – Thursday’s Child (Remastered)
11. Eartha Kitt – St. Louis Blues (Remastered)
12. Eartha Kitt – Uska Dara – A Turkish Tale (Remastered)
13. Eartha Kitt – The Memphis Blues (Remastered)
14. Eartha Kitt – Lazy Afternoon (Remastered)
15. Eartha Kitt – Careless Love (Remastered)
16. Eartha Kitt – Lilac Wine (Remastered)
17. Eartha Kitt – April In Portugal (Remastered)
18. Eartha Kitt – Apres Moi (Remastered)
19. Eartha Kitt – The Day The Circus Left Town (Remastered)
20. Eartha Kitt – If I Can’t Take It With Me (Remastered)