Earth, Wind & Fire – I Am (1979/2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Earth, Wind & Fire – I Am (1979/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz  | Time – 00:37:38 minutes | 861 MB | Genre: R&B, Soul, Funk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | © Columbia Records
Recorded: September 4-16, 1978 at Hollywood Sound Recorders, Sunset Sound Studio, Davlen Studio, Los Angeles, California

I Am is the ninth studio album by the R&B band Earth, Wind & Fire, released on June 9, 1979 on CBS Records. The album features the singles “Boogie Wonderland” with The Emotions and “After the Love Has Gone”. I Am has been certified double platinum in the US by the RIAA and platinum in the UK and in Canada by the British Phonographic Industry and Music Canada.

Disco was at the height of its popularity in 1979, when Earth, Wind & Fire responded with its most disco-influenced single ever, the glossy and infectious “Boogie Wonderland.” Up to that point, EWF had pretty much ignored disco, and when the band finally acknowledged the style, the soulsters weren’t about to inundate listeners with it. “Boogie Wonderland” (which features the Emotions, a female group for whom Maurice White had been producing major hits) isn’t representative of I Am on the whole. From the hit ballad “After the Love Has Gone” to the exuberant “Let My Feelings Flow,” I Am isn’t a radical departure from its predecessor, All ‘n All. Though not in a class with That’s the Way of the World, Spirit, or All ‘n All, I Am is a rewarding album that has a lot going for it. -AllMusic Review by Alex Henderson

1 In The Stone 4:48
2 Can’t Let Go 3:29
3 After The Love Has Gone 4:38
4 Let Your Feelings Show 5:12
5 Boogie Wonderland 4:48
6 Star 4:24
7 Wait 3:39
8 Rock That! 3:07
9 You And I 3:32

The Emotions – additional backing vocals
Bass – Verdine White
Cello – Daniel Smith, Delores Bing, Jacqueline Lustgarten, Jan Kelley, John Walz, Kevan Torfeh, Larry Corbett, Miguel Martinez
Drums – Fred White
French horn – Barbara Korn, Marilyn Robinson, Richard Perissi, Sidney Muldrow
Guitar – Al McKay, Johnny Graham, Marlo Henderson, Sir Alexander Dutkewych (writer & harp, on “Dirty”), Steve Lukather
Harp – Dorothy Jeanne Ashby
Keyboards – Billy Myers, David Foster, Eddie Del Barrio
Percussion – Paulinho Da Costa, Ralph Johnson
Piano, Oberheim and Moog synthesizers – Larry Dunn
Saxophone – Fred Jackson Jr., Herman Riley, Jerome Richardson
Alto, tenor and baritone saxophones – Don Myrick
Tenor saxophone – Andrew Woolfolk
Timpani – Richard Lepore
Trombone – Benjamin Powell, William Reichenbach, Garnett Brown, George Bohanon, Louis Satterfield, Maurice Spears
Trumpet – Bobby Bryant, Jerry Hey, Michael Harris, Oscar Brashear, Rahmlee Michael Davis, Steve Madaio
Viola – James Ross, Laurie Woods, Linda Lipsett, Marilyn Baker, Rollice Dale, Virginia Majewski
Violin – Anton Sen, Sherman Bryana, Carl LaMagna, Cynthia Kovaks, Gina Kronstadt, Haim Shtrum, Harris Goldman, Henry Ferber, Henry Roth, Ilkka Talvi, Jack Gootkin, Jerome Reisler, Jerome Webster, Joseph Goodman, Joseph Livoti, Judith Talvi, Leeana Sherman, Marcy Dicterow, Pamela Gates, Pavel Farkas, Ronald Clarck, Rosmen Torfeh, Sheldon Sanov, William Henderson
Vocals, congas, percussion – Philip Bailey
Vocals, drums, kalimba – Maurice White