Earth, Wind & Fire – Faces (1980/2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Earth, Wind & Fire – Faces (1980/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz  | Time – 01:05:59 minutes | 1,49 GB | Genre: R&B, Soul, Funk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | © Columbia Records
Recorded: September 1980, George Massenburg/ARC Studios, West Los Angeles, Los Angeles

Faces is the tenth studio album, a double-LP by R&B artists Earth, Wind & Fire, released in 1980 on ARC/Columbia Records. The album reached number 2 and number 10 on the Billboard Black and Pop albums charts.

It has been certified gold in the US by the RIAA. In a 2007 interview when asked which EWF album is his favorite Earth, Wind & Fire leader Maurice White replied “Probably Faces because we were really in tune, playing together and it gave us the opportunity to explore new areas”.
The lead-off single was “Let Me Talk”. The songs “You”, and “Sparkle” followed as single releases. Unlike previous Earth, Wind and Fire albums, there was no U.S. tour in support of the album. This was also the last Earth Wind and Fire recording with guitarist Al McKay, who left the group the next year. This album is noted for featuring Steve Lukather, guitarist for EWF’s label mate Toto, on the songs “Back on the Road” and “You Went Away”.

Although they were catching more flak from critics for an alleged obsession with sociopolitical commentary and quasi-mystical references, R&B audiences hadn’t yet tired of Earth, Wind & Fire. While this album admittedly had less memorable material and was more dependent on what had become standard production and stock devices, it still landed plenty of hits on the charts. -AllMusic Review by Ron Wynn

1 Let Me Talk 4:09
2 Turn It Into Something Good 4:11
3 Pride 4:12
4 You 5:11
5 Sparkle 3:51
6 Back On The Road 3:34
7 Song In My Heart 4:18
8 You Went Away 4:25
9 And Love Goes On 4:06
10 Sailaway 4:38
11 Take It To The Sky 3:51
12 Win Or Lose 3:54
13 Share Your Love 3:18
14 In Time 4:13
15 Oriental (Interlude) 0:27
16 Faces 8:02
17 Pipe Organ (Interlude) 0:23

Bass – Verdine White
Bells [Uncredited], Bells [Orchestra Bells, Uncredited] – Gary Coleman
Cello – Albert Gill, Buell Neidlinger, Dennis Karmazyn, Earl Madison, Frederick Seykora, Jacqueline Lustgarten, Larry Corbett, Marston Smith, Louise Zeyen, Miguel Martinez, Olivier Nils, Nina Deveritch, Raymond Kelley, Ronald Cooper
Concertmaster – Assa Drori, Harris Goldman, Janice Gower
Drums, Percussion – Fred White
French Horn – Alan Robinson, Arthur Maebe, George Price, Marilyn Robinson, Vincent DeRosa
Guitar – Johnny Graham, Marlo Henderson, Steve Lukather
Harp – Dorothy Jeanne Ashby
Keyboards – David Foster, Garry Glenn
Keyboards, Organ – Jerry Peters
Percussion – Paulinho Da Costa, Ralph Johnson
Piano, Synthesizer, Programmed By [Synthesizers] – Larry Dunn
Producer, Vocals, Drums, Kalimba – Maurice White
Saxophone [Tenor, Alto, Baritone] – Don Myrick
Saxophone [Tenor] – Andrew Woolfolk
Saxophone [Uncredited] – Jeff Clayton
Saxophone, Flute – Fred Jackson Jr., Lawrence Williams
Trombone – William Reichenbach, Fred Wesley, George Bohanon, Louis Satterfield
Trumpet – Bobby Bryant, Chuck Findley, Gary E. Grant, Jerry Hey, Michael Harris, Nolan Smith Jr., Oscar Brashear, Steve Madaio
Trumpet, Flugelhorn – Rahmlee Michael Davis
Tuba – John Johnson
Viola – Allan Harshman, Barbara Thomason, Brenton Banks, Bryana Sherman, David Schwartz, Gareth Nuttycombe, Harry Hyams, Herschel Wise, James Ross, Laury Woods, Leanna Sherman, Marilyn Baker, Patricia Matthews, Renita Koven, Roland Kato, Rollice Dale, Ronald Strauss
Violin – Arkady Shindelman, Barry Socher, Bernard Kundell, Don Palmer, Endre Granat, Gina Kronstadt, Glenn Dicterow, Haim Shtrum, Harold Dicterow, Henry Ferber, Henry Roth, Irvin Giller, Isabelle Daskoff, Jack Gootkin, Janet Lakatos, Jerome Reisler, Jerome Webster, John Wittenburg, Joseph Goodman, Joseph Shoenbrun, Joy Lyle, Karen Jones, Mari Tsumura Botnick, Mark Cargill, Marvin Limonick, Mary Lundquist, Michael Markman, Michael Nowack, Norman Carr, Pavel Farkas, Reginald Hill, Bobby Dubow, Robert Jung, Robert Lipsett, Ron Clark, Ronald Folsom, Shari Zippert, Sheldon Sanov, Sid Page, Sidney Sharp, Sidney Sharp, Vicky Sylvester, William Henderson, William Kurasch
Vocals, Congas, Percussion – Philip Bailey