Duo Pleyel – Dussek: Complete Original Works for Piano Four-Hands (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Duo Pleyel – Dussek: Complete Original Works for Piano Four-Hands (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 01:19:52 minutes | 1,12 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Linn Records

Duo Pleyel releases its second album on Linn Records, following its “winning performances” (BBC Music Magazine) of Schubert. Richard Egarr and Alexandra Nepomnyashchaya perform the complete original works for piano four-hands by the unjustly neglected composer Jan Ladislav Dussek.

Born into a Bohemian musical family, Jan Ladislav led a colourful life, both personally and as a virtuoso. He was a much sought-after teacher and helped push forward the development of the piano. Before his death in 1812 (perhaps helped by a fondness for strong drink and rich food) he enjoyed the company of the great and the good from all walks of life and travelled widely throughout Europe. His somewhat roguish character led to him having to flee for his safety on at least two occasions. Once from Russia, where he was accused of participating in a plot against the Empress, and again from London, where a joint publishing venture (with his father-in-law and a certain Lorenzo Da Ponte) went bankrupt. Despite these dubious personal flaws, Dussek was an acclaimed and hugely important composer and pianist during his lifetime. Duo Pleyel offers you a delicious and hearty musical feast – it is time for Dussek to be back on the world’s musical menu.

01. Duo Pleyel – I. Largo; Molto allegro
02. Duo Pleyel – II. Larghetto non tanto
03. Duo Pleyel – III. Rondo (Allegretto)
04. Duo Pleyel – Fuga in D Major, Op. 64 No. 1 C. 227
05. Duo Pleyel – I. Andantino con moto
06. Duo Pleyel – II. Rondo (Allegro)
07. Duo Pleyel – Fuga in G Minor, Op. 64 No. 2 C. 228
08. Duo Pleyel – I. [Larghetto]
09. Duo Pleyel – II. Rondo (Allegro)
10. Duo Pleyel – Fuga in F Major, Op. 64 No. 3 C. 229
11. Duo Pleyel – I. Allegro moderato
12. Duo Pleyel – II. Polonaise
13. Duo Pleyel – I. Allegro
14. Duo Pleyel – II. Larghetto affettuoso e non troppo lento
15. Duo Pleyel – III. Intermezzo (Allegretto moderato ma energico) – Rondo (Allegretto moderato)