Duke Pearson – The Phantom (1968/2020) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Duke Pearson - The Phantom (1968/2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz] Download

Duke Pearson – The Phantom (1968/2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 38:41 minutes | 779 MBGenre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Blue Note

After his big band experiment, Duke Pearson returned to a smaller group setting, but he didn’t scale back his ambitions. The Phantom finds Pearson writing an ambitious set of post-bop that expands the boundaries of the music with Latin percussion and complex harmonies derived from the avant-garde. His supporting band is fairly large, featuring Jerry Dodgion (flute), Bobby Hutcherson (vibes), Sam T. Brown (guitar), Alexander Gafa (guitar), Bob Cranshaw (bass), Mickey Roker (drums), Carlos “Patato” Valdes (conga), and Victor Pantoja (conga), but they’re agile, bringing a spark and energy to the difficult arrangements. The results aren’t always successful, but they are intriguing and worth investigating. – Stephen Thomas Erlewine


1. Duke Pearson – The Phantom (10:22)
2. Duke Pearson – Blues For Alvina (03:09)
3. Duke Pearson – Bunda Amerela (05:46)
4. Duke Pearson – Los Ojos Alegres (The Happy Eyes) (06:17)
5. Duke Pearson – Say Your’re Mine (05:41)
6. Duke Pearson – The Moana Surf (07:24)