Duke Ellington – Far East Suite (1967/2017) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Duke Ellington – Far East Suite (1967/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 44:37 minutes | 1,43 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Digital booklet | © Legacy Recordings

The Far East Suite is an album by Duke Ellington and his orchestra, recorded in New York City on 19 December to 21 December 1966. The nine compositions on the original album were all composed by Ellington and Billy Strayhorn (except for one by Ellington). Strayhorn died in May, 1967, making The Far East Suite the final album to feature his compositions that was released during his life.

Duke Ellington could have been forgiven if, by the time he was 67, he had gradually lost his creative desire not to mention his writing skills. But his genius never dimmed as witness the new music (“The Far East Suite” and “Ad Lib on Nippon”) on this superb set. “The Far East Suite” is in reality eight separate compositions of which the beautiful “Isfahan” (a memorable Johnny Hodges feature) became the best-known melody; Paul Gonsalves and Jimmy Hamilton are also among the main stars with the clarinetist being showcased throughout “Ad Lib on Nippon”. But it is the writing of Ellington and Strayhorn in their late prime that makes this one of his more memorable recordings. ~~ AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow

01 – Tourist Point of View
02 – Bluebird of Delhi (Mynah)
03 – Isfahan
04 – Depk
05 – Mount Harissa
06 – Blue Pepper (Far East of The Blues)
07 – Agra
08 – Amad
09 – Ad Lib on Nippon