Duke Ellington and His Orchestra – Concert In The Virgin Islands (1965/2011) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Duke Ellington and His Orchestra – Concert In The Virgin Islands (1965/2011)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 37:22 minutes | 1,46 GB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks.com | Front cover | @ Rhino/Warner Bros.

This lush, Caribbean-themed collection created a new standard for big band music. The recording includes four original compositions representing the “Virgin Island Suite” and new readings of classics from Ellington’s extensive repertoire. The pieces on this set are as impressive as the stellar line up of musicians including Cat Anderson, Jimmy Hamilton, Billy Strayhorn, among others. The inspired performances and textured nuances are captured with the highest fidelity.

Although in his mid-60s, Duke Ellington proves on this program of mostly new music that he never declined nor lost his creativity. Four of the pieces comprise “The Virgin Islands Suite,” and there are new versions of “Things Ain’t What They Used to Be” and “Chelsea Bridge,” and also a variety of miniature classics. In 1965 the Ellington orchestra had 11 very distinctive soloists; eight are heard from during this memorable set.

01 – Island Virgin
02 – Virgin Jungle
03 – Fiddler On The Diddle
04 – Jungle Kitty
05 – Things Ain’t What They Used To Be
06 – Big Fat Alice’s Blues
07 – Chelsea Bridge
08 – The Opener
09 – Mysterious Chick
10 – Barefoot Stomper
11 – Fade Up