Dorsey Burnette – The Complete Motown Recordings 1964-1965 (2014) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Dorsey Burnette – The Complete Motown Recordings 1964-1965 (2014) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:09:13 minutes | 1,09 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Motown

Rockabilly singer Dorsey Burnette was part of Motown Records short-lived foray into country music on their spin-off label Mel-o-dy Records and this package includes the 28 tracks he recorded in 1964 and 1965. Burnette’s biggest hit from this era, Jimmy Brown, was even released in the UK under the Tamla Motown imprint, a rarity at the time.

Dorsey Burnette first found fame as a member of the pioneering rockabilly group Johnny Burnette & the Rock ‘n’ Roll Trio, and after the combo split up, Dorsey went on to a long career as a journeyman pop and country singer, as well as a more successful sideline as a songwriter. In 1964, after Dorsey had failed to score hits at Dot, Imperial, Reprise, and a handful of other labels, he found new sponsors in an unlikely place. Motown Records, the wildly successful soul and R&B label, was launching a new subsidiary, Mel-O-Dy Records, that would focus on country-influenced sounds, and they signed Dorsey to a record deal. Between April 1964 and August 1965, Burnette recorded 28 songs for Mel-O-Dy, some in California and others at Motown’s famous Hitsville USA studio in Detroit. Sadly, most of Dorsey’s sessions for Mel-O-Dy went unreleased and none of them produced a hit, but The Complete Motown Recordings includes all the sides Burnette cut during his 16-month tenure with Motown and Mel-O-Dy. Ranging from country and refined rockabilly to pop with a soulful undertow, The Complete Motown Recordings finally allows Dorsey Burnette’s fans to explore a fascinating lost chapter in his discography.

01 – Little Acorn
02 – Cold As Usual
03 – Jimmy Brown
04 – Everybody’s Angel
05 – Ever Since The World Began
06 – Long Long Time Ago
07 – Magic Of Love
08 – One Mornin’
09 – It Could’ve Been Different
10 – My Refugee
11 – Green Side Of The Mountain
12 – Little By Little
13 – Go Between
14 – Light The Fuse
15 – Gotta Travel On
16 – Alligator Davey
17 – Don’t Believe
18 – Bluer Than Blue
19 – Buckeye Road
20 – Lonely Room 21
21 – Lipstick, Tickle Toes, Huggy Bear, Kissy Face Baby
22 – Conscience I’m Guilty
23 – Love Me Forever
24 – There Comes A Time (Baby I Didn’t)
25 – I Know, I Know
26 – Honey Come Back
27 – Why Break My Heart (Just To Run Around)
28 – They’re Only Words

Digitally Remastered.