Dorothy Morrison – Brand New Day (1970/2021) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Dorothy Morrison – Brand New Day (1970/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 29:56 minutes | 1,04 GB | Genre: Soul, R&B
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Buddah – Legacy

Another Bay Area girl with a big voice. I don’t think anyone who was around in the 70’s will ever forget the first time they heard the full 50 member Northern California Youth Choir erupt from behind the lead vocal on Edwin Hawkins’ Oh Happy Day. I thought that our car radio speakers were about to blow through the dashboard! That sublime, controlled lead vocal in the midst of the un-bridaled joy on that groundbreaking song was one Dorothy Combs Morrison. I’ll pull out that original album soon but as soon as the song went national, Buddah launched Dorothy’s solo career with this album. The music is a lovely Gospel/Soul mix that rings with the optimism of the era.

“Dorothy Combs Morrison was born in Longview, Texas, on May 8, 1944. The seventh child of ten, Dorothy showed early signs of her talents. She began singing at the age of 13 and released her first single “I Am Free”, while singing with her siblings as ‘The Combs Family’. Dorothy’s continued exposure while appearing with her family at church events led to her talents being noticed by others in the San Francisco and Oakland Bay Area.


1. Dorothy Morrison – Hi De Ho (That Old Sweet Roll)
2. Dorothy Morrison – Top of the Mountain
3. Dorothy Morrison – Fire and Rain
4. Dorothy Morrison – The Border Song
5. Dorothy Morrison – Brand New Day
6. Dorothy Morrison – Black California
7. Dorothy Morrison – Spirit In the Sky
8. Dorothy Morrison – Peace Brother Peace
9. Dorothy Morrison – Can You Believe
10. Dorothy Morrison – Get High On Jesus