Donny McCaslin – Fast Future (2015) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Donny McCaslin – Fast Future (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 55:33 minutes | 1,17 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Booklet, Front cover | © Greenleaf Music

Saxophonist Donny McCaslin’s 11th release as leader, and fourth on Dave Douglas’ independent imprint Greenleaf, is well-named. Fast Future explores a newer kind of fusion, blending post-bop with breakbeats, rhythms and tones from electronica and EDM. McCaslin is known for bending apart expectations, so it’s no surprise to hear thoroughly modern music on these ten tunes. The album offers a thrilling vision of the shape and redefinition of jazz to come.

Saxophonist Donny McCaslin brought a fresh perspective to the acoustic-electronic jazz soundscape with 2012’s Casting for Gravity (Greenleaf Music) which earned a Grammy nomination for “Best Instrumental Jazz Solo” for the track “Stadium Jazz.” Thankfully it was not a one-off as McCaslin reassembles the tightly knit band and savvy production from saxophonist David Binney in Fast Future, a release that continues the groove factor.

Like its predecessor, the music pulsates with energy as McCaslin’s tenor powers over funky riffs, spaced-out backgrounds, and crisp beats provided by drummer Mark Guiliana, and bassist Tim Lefebvre while Jason Lindner colors things with copious keyboards embellishments. But there are also a few surprises. For one, there’s the inclusion of wordless voice harmonies in the hard driving title track and the affecting spoken word performed by artist Jana Dagdagan on “Love What is Mortal.” Next comes the appeal of Electronic Dance Music in “54 Cymru Beats” and the reggae shaded “Squeeze Thru” as McCaslin cites EDM musicians/composers Aphex Twin and Skrillex as influences alongside jazz/electronic giants Herbie Hancock and Weather Report as the band stretches out and kills “This Side of Sunrise” and “Blur” with spot on performances and improvisation. In summary, McCaslin’s Fast Future further suggests that the lines between acoustic jazz and electronica are at times blurred and that music regardless of its instrumentation can find common ground.

01 – Fast Future
02 – No Eyes
03 – Love and Living
04 – Midnight Light
05 – 54 Cymru Beats
06 – Love What is Mortal
07 – Underground City
08 – This Side of Sunrise
09 – Blur
10 – Squeeze Thru

Produced by David Binney. Engineered by Michael Marciano.
Recorded in June 2014 at Systems Two, Brooklyn, New York.
Mixed & Mastered by Nate Wood at Kerseboom Mastering.

Donny McCaslin – tenor saxophone
Jason Lindner – keyboards
Tim Lefebvre – electric bass
Mark Guiliana – drums