Don Broco – Automatic {Deluxe Edition} (2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Don Broco – Automatic {Deluxe Edition} (2015) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 48:32 minutes | 605 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Search and Destroy Records

2015 release, the sophomore album from UK Rock outfit Don Broco. “Automatic” is the long-awaited follow-up to their much loved debut album “Priorities” (2012). Includes the singles “Automatic” and “Superlove”. The album was included at number 13 on Rock Sound’s top 50 releases of 2015 list. Deluxe edition includes four bonus tracks.

Bedford’s finest breached the Top 30 with their 2012 debut’s blend of alt.rock and shiny pop – Busted crossed with Biffy Clyro and the Red Hot Chili Peppers. Three years on, this second album is audibly designed to broaden their appeal. Presumably with an eye on the 1975’s success, they’ve ditched the heavier riffola for a new sound that feeds 80s pop through a radio-friendly filter, emerging as a machine-polished blend of Duran Duran and Level 42. It’s aspirational, thrusting stuff. “Determination! Have I got what it takes?” asks Rob Damiani, expecting an affirmative. And if not? “Keep on, keep on pushing!” If anything, the album tries too hard. There are lots of “ooh ooh ooh”s, moodily chugging guitars and keyboard motifs that could have soundtracked Miami Vice circa 1985. Automatic and Let You Get Away are naggingly catchy, but soulless, and if Don Broco’s original fans edge nervously away, Automatic will presumably make or break them.

01 – Superlove
02 – Automatic
03 – What You Do to Me
04 – Fire
05 – Nerve
06 – Let You Get Away
07 – I Got Sick
08 – Keep On Pushing
09 – Tough On You
10 – Further
11 – Money Power Fame [Bonus Track]
12 – Bad Feeling [Bonus Track]
13 – Wrong Place Wrong Time [Bonus Track]
14 – You Wanna Know [Bonus Track]

Produced by Jason Perry.