Dolly Parton – Joshua (1971/2015) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Dolly Parton – Joshua (1971/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 28:02 minutes | 591 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © RCA/Legacy

The title track on this Dolly Parton album was the first to top the US Country Billboard charts. The album itself landed at an admirable #16 on the Country Album charts, and even appeared at #198 on the Pop Album charts.

A casual glance at Parton’s discography shows that girl was on a roll in early 1970s – in addition to constant touring, concerts and TV work with her duet partner Porter Wagoner, Dolly had released THREE albums in 1971. with most of the songs were written by herself (except gospel album, but even there she managed to squeeze few originals). And listen folks, these songs were not just a throwaway either, rollicking “Joshua” was her first Nr.1 chart single and got her “Grammy” nomination that year.
“Joshua” also marks beginning of slightly harder sound. Where on previous albums Parton was surrounded with typical Nashville arrangements of the times, here for the first time we hear some excellent musicians in the background and they surround her with strong guitar playing that inspired Parton in some of her most self-assured singing (“Daddy’s Moonshine Still”). As usual she looks at her background for inspiration and “Chicken Every Sunday” romanticizes poor childhood, this song could easily fit on her slightly later concept album “My Tennessee Mountain Home”. Only title song was big hit but it surely Nashville paid attention, because Kitty Wells recorded “J.J. Sneed” on her own album. And the very same year Skeeter Davis recorded a full album of Dolly songs called “Skeeter Sings Dolly” with “Joshua” on it. Of course Dolly wouldn’t be Dolly if she didn’t end this triumphal album with a sentimental “Letter to Heaven” that perfectly describes her obsession with death, children and Heaven.

01. Joshua
02. The Last One to Touch Me
03. Walls of My Mind
04. It Ain’t Fair That it Ain’t Right
05. J.J. Sneed
06. You Can’t Reach Me Anymore
07. Daddy’s Moonshine Still
08. Chicken Every Sunday
09. The Fire’s Still Burning
10. Letter to Heaven