Dionysos Now – Adriano 1 (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Dionysos Now – Adriano 1 (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 54:11 minutes | 1,12 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Evil Penguin Classic

With this project Tore Denys wants to return to his roots in Roeselare and pay homage to one of the greatest composers in Roeselare’s history.
Together with the members of his ensemble Dionysos Now!, he wants to plan a trajectory to have a contemporary reflection of his most striking signature works in 2022 – 460 years after the death of Adriaan Willaert.

For many, Adriaan Willaert is not a complete stranger, but his extensive and versatile oeuvre rarely appears in concert programmes or on CD recordings. The relative unfamiliarity with the oeuvre of the Flemish but world-renowned polyphonists is at the root of the fact that their names do not dare to be mentioned in the same breath as those of Bach, Mozart or Beethoven. Wrongly.
As a famous composer and renowned educator, Willaert gathered around him a wide circle of pupils and friends, both Italians and Flemish and Dutch, so that he can be considered the “founder of the Venetian school”, an epithet that is fully justified.
Willaert’s oeuvre is extremely extensive: 150 motets, vespers, hymns and psalms, eight masses of chansons madrigals.

“With Dionysos Now!, I wish to show that Renaissance vocal polyphony is wonderfully captivating music that deserves to be heard by a wider audience. Dionysos Now! aims to build cathedrals out of sounds, letting you experience the music as though you were flying far above those cathedrals with a drone. The individual bricks are all there, but they seem to merge together with the whole, into the gestalt: the radiant music generates much more effervescent energy than the sum of its tones, and the music’s contagious flow is sought and captured, like a surfer who seems to have found the perfect wave and seizes his chance to ride it before it again ebbs away.


1. Dionysos Now – Missa Mittit ad Virginem: I. Kyrie Eleison
2. Dionysos Now – Missa Mittit ad Virginem: II. Gloria
3. Dionysos Now – Missa Mittit ad Virginem: III. Credo
4. Dionysos Now – Missa Mittit ad Virginem: IV. Sanctus – Benedictus
5. Dionysos Now – Missa Mittit ad Virginem: V. Agnus Dei
6. Dionysos Now – Mittit ad Virginem: Choral Hymnus
7. Dionysos Now – Mittit ad Virginem: Motet
8. Dionysos Now – O Gloriosa Domina: Motet
9. Dionysos Now – Ave Maria: Motet
10. Dionysos Now – Beata Viscera: Motet