Dinah Washington and Quincy Jones And His OrchestraThe – The Swingin’ Miss “D” (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Dinah Washington and Quincy Jones And His OrchestraThe – The Swingin’ Miss “D” (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 52:09 minutes | 521 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RevOla

Dinah Washington was accompanied by an orchestra organized and conducted by Quincy Jones on this 1957 album, and she was singing to arrangements mostly written by the young bandleader, swing charts of pop standards by the likes of Cole Porter, George Gershwin, and Duke Ellington. The result had much in common with the swing albums of Frank Sinatra in the same period, especially because Jones’ arrangements were heavily influenced by Billy May and Nelson Riddle. Sinatra’s records were regarded as “pop, ” of course, and Washington’s, at least when released on the EmArcy subsidiary of Mercury Records, as “jazz, ” but her precise articulation and attention to lyrical meaning left little room for improvisation, and while Jones allowed for brief solos from a band that included Charlie Shavers, Clark Terry, Urbie Green, and Milt Hinton, the jazz categorization was actually arbitrary. Whatever musical genre you assign it to, however, this is an excellent Washington album. [For the 1998 reissue, Verve added seven bonus tracks recorded around the same time and with much the same personnel, though they were intended as singles and thus are inferior contemporary tunes. Often, however, Washington sounds more comfortable and enthusiastic on these pop and R&B songs than she does on the standards.]

01. They Didn’t Believe Me
02. You’re Crying
03. Makin’ Whoopee
04. Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye
05. But Not for Me
06. Caravan
07. Perdido
08. Never Let Me Go
09. Is You Is or Is You Ain’t My Baby?
10. I’ll Close My Eyes
11. Somebody Loves Me
12. I’ll Drown in My Tears
13. You Let My Love Grow Cold
14. Bargain Day
15. Relax Max
16. Tears to Burn
17. The Kissing Way Home
18. I Know