Diana Ross – Diana Ross (1970/2016) [HighResAudio FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Diana Ross – Diana Ross (1970/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 38:06 minutes | 1,68 GB | Genre: R&B, Soul, Pop
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: highresaudio | Artwork: Front cover | © Universal Motown

Written and produced almost entirely by Ashford & Simpson, this solo self-titled debut from Diana Ross was released in 1970 only months after her final appearance with the Supremes. It proved to be a massive success, selling over 500,000 albums and yielding two huge hits, the number one single Ain’t No Mountain High Enough and Reach Out And Touch (Somebody’s Hand), which together sold almost two million copies. Ross also earned a Grammy nomination, the first of many during her solo career.

Her self-titled debut LP (later retitled Ain’t No Mountain High Enough after the single became a hit) was arguably her finest solo work at Motown and perhaps her best ever; it was certainly among her most stunning. Everyone who doubted whether Diana Ross could sustain a career outside the Supremes found out immediately that she would be a star. The single “Reach Out and Touch (Somebody’s Hand)” remains a staple in her shows, and is still her finest message track. ~~AllMusic Review by Ron Wynn

1. Reach Out And Touch (Somebody’s Hand) 03:05
2. Now That There’s You 03:28
3. You’re All I Need To Get By 03:27
4. These Things Will Keep Me Loving You 03:08
5. Ain’t No Mountain High Enough 06:18
6. Something On My Mind 02:25
7. I Wouldn’t Change The Man He Is 03:18
8. Keep An Eye 03:16
9. Where There Was Darkness 03:17
10. Can’t It Wait Until Tomorrow 03:16
11. Dark Side Of The World 03:08

Diana Ross: lead vocals
Nickolas Ashford & Valerie Simpson: producers, background vocals
Johnny Bristol: producer, additional vocals on “These Things Will Keep Me Loving You”
Paul Riser: arranger
The Andantes: background vocals
Jackey Beavers: background vocals
Maxine & Julia Waters: background vocals on “These Things Will Keep Me Loving You”
The Funk Brothers: instrumentation