Diana Krall – The Look Of Love (2001) [2002 Verve SACD Reissue] {2.0 & 5.1} [SACD ISO + DFF]

Diana Krall – The Look Of Love (2001) [2002 Verve SACD Reissue] {2.0 & 5.1}
SACD Hybrid reissue release from Diana Krall. Features 2.0 Stereo and 5.1 multichannel surround sound

The Look of Love doesn’t tamper with Diana Krall’s ongoing success, continuing the emphasis on romantic ballads and embracing them with lush string arrangements. At the core, of course, is Krall’s voice. She’s developing into one of the great torch singers, with an approach that’s both direct and subtly nuanced, true to the song and yet deeply personal.


Diana Krall has a good voice and plays decent piano, but this somewhat ridiculously packaged Verve CD seems like an obvious attempt to turn her into a pop icon, and sex symbol to boot. The bland arrangements by Claus Ogerman (who conducts the London Symphony Orchestra or the Los Angeles Session Orchestra on each track) border on easy listening, while Krall and her various supporting musicians, including John Pisano, Russell Malone, Christian McBride, and Peter Erskine (among others), clearly seem stifled by their respective roles. There are plenty of strong compositions here, including standards like “I Remember You,” “The Night We Called It a Day,” and “I Get Along Without You Very Well,” but the unimaginative and often syrupy charts take their toll on the performances. What is even sillier is the label’s insistence on attempting to photograph the artist in various sultry poses, which she evidently wants to discourage by refusing to provide much of a smile (the rumor is that she’s not happy with this part of the business at all). If you are looking for unchallenging background music, this will fit the bill, but jazz fans are advised to check out Krall’s earlier releases instead.

01. ‘S Wonderful
02. Love Letters
03. I Remember You
04. Cry Me A River
05. Besame Mucho
06. The Night We Called It A Day
07. Dancing in the Dark
08. I Get Along Without You Very Well
09. The Look of Love
10. Maybe You’ll Be There

> Diana Krall – piano, vocals
> Dori Caymmi – guitar
> Luis Conte – percussion
> Paulinho Da Costa – percussion
> Peter Erskine – drums
> Jeff Hamilton – bass, drums
> Christian McBride – double bass
> London Symphony Orchestra
– Claus Ogerman – conductor, arranger

Producer: Tommy LiPuma.
Engineers: Chris Clark, John Hendrickson, Richard Lancaster, Al Schmitt.
Mixing: Al Schmitt. Mastering: Robert Hadley, Doug Sax.
Surround mix: Al Schmitt. Stereo master: Doug Sax.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.