Diana Krall – All For You: A Dedication To The Nat King Cole Trio (1996/2013) [HDTracks 24bit/96kHz]

Diana Krall – All For You: A Dedication To The Nat King Cole Trio (1996/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 54:27 minutes | 1,17 GB | Genre; Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks.com | Front cover

This Diana Krall album pays tribute to the Nat King Cole Trio with a set of ballads, medium and up-tempo tunes including “If I Had You”, “Frim Fram Sauce”, and “Deed I Do”.

Pianist/vocalist Diana Krall pays tribute to the Nat King Cole Trio on her Impulse! set. In general, the medium and up-tempo tunes work best, particularly such hot ditties as “I’m an Errand Girl for Rhythm,” “Frim Fram Sauce,” and “Hit That Jive Jack.” Krall does not attempt to directly copy Cole much (either pianistically or vocally), although his influence is obviously felt on some of the songs. The slow ballads are actually as reminiscent of Shirley Horn as Cole, particularly the somber “I’m Through With Love” and “If I Had You.” Guitarist Russell Malone gets some solo space on many of the songs and joins in on the group vocal of “Hit That Jive Jack,” although it is surprising that he had no other opportunities to interact vocally with Krall; a duet could have been delightful. Bassist Paul Keller is fine in support, pianist Benny Green backs Krall’s vocal on “If I Had You,” and percussionist Steve Kroon is added on one song. Overall, this is a tasteful effort that succeeds.

01 – I’m An Errand Girl For Rhythm
02 – Gee Baby, Ain’t I Good To You
03 – You Call It Madness
04 – Frim Fram Sauce
05 – Boulevard Of Broken Dreams
06 – Baby Baby All The Time
07 – Hit That Jive Jack
08 – You’re Looking At Me
09 – I’m Thru With Love
10 – Deed I Do
11 – A Blossom Fell
12 – If I Had You

Diana Krall – piano, lead vocals
Benny Green – piano on “If I Had You”
Paul Keller – bass
Steve Kroon – percussion on “Boulevard of Broken Dreams”
Russell Malone – guitar



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.