Destroyer – ken (Deluxe Version) (2017) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Destroyer – ken (Deluxe Version) (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 44:21 minutes | 497 MB | Genre: Indie Rock, Chamber Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front cover | © Dead Oceans

Sometime last year, I discovered that the original name for “The Wild Ones” (one of the great English-language ballads of the last 100 years or so) was “Ken.” I had an epiphany, I was physically struck by this information. In an attempt to hold on to this feeling, I decided to lift the original title of that song and use it for my own purposes. It’s unclear to me what that purpose is, or what the connection is. I was not thinking about Suede when making this record. I was thinking about the last few years of the Thatcher era. Those were the years when music first really came at me like a sickness, I had it bad. Maybe “TheWild Ones” speaks to that feeling, probably why Suede made no sense in America. I think “ken” also means “to know.” ken was produced by Josh Wells of Black Mountain, who has been the drummer in Destroyer since 2012. The album was recorded in its entirety in the jam space/studio space that the group calls The Balloon Factory. However, unlike Poison Season, ken was not recorded as a “band” record, though everyone in the band does make an appearance.

01. Skys Grey
02. In the Morning
03. Tinseltown Swimming in Blood
04. Cover from the Sun
05. Saw You at the Hospital
06. A Light Travels Down the Catwalk
07. Rome
08. Sometimes in the World
09. Ivory Coast
10. Stay Lost
11. La Regle du Jeu
12. A Light Travels Down the Catwalk (Acoustic)
13. Stay Lost (Acoustic)