Dennis Coffey – Absolutely the Best of Dennis Coffey (2011/2019) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Dennis Coffey – Absolutely the Best of Dennis Coffey (2011/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:08:05 minutes | 791 MB | Genre: Funk
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Sussex Records

This 20 track appreciation of the legendary guitarist’s work covers the four albums he recorded for Sussex Records between 1971 and 1973. The edgy Funk blazes a trail on songs like ‘Scorpio’, ‘Son Of Scorpio’ and ‘Enter The Dragon’.

Like Big City Funk, released by Spain’s Vampi Soul in 2006, Absolutely the Best of Dennis Coffey covers the guitarist’s output for Clarence Avant’s Sussex label: Evolution (1971), Goin’ for Myself (1972), Electric Coffey (1972), and Instant Coffey (1973). This is the one to get. It boasts considerably better sound and a lengthier track list. The entirety of Evolution — featuring the oft-sampled Top Ten R&B hit “Scorpio” and a grinding version of Led Zeppelin’s “Whole Lotta Love” — is scattered throughout the sequence, while smart selections from the other three albums — including the number 11 R&B hit “Taurus,” “Son of Scorpio,” and “Theme from Enter the Dragon” — take up the other half of the disc. Prime instrumental funk informed by acid rock, gutsy soul, and street-level jazz. ~ Andy Kellman

01. Ride, Sally, Ride
02. Can You Feel It
03. Midnight Blue
04. Scorpio
05. Outrageous (The Mind Excursion)
06. Chicano
07. Taurus
08. Theme from Enter the Dragon
09. Son of Scorpio
10. Capricorn’s Thing
11. Love Song for Libra
12. Getting It On
13. Whole Lot of Love
14. Summer Time Girl
15. Garden of the Moon
16. Impressions Of
17. Sad Angel
18. Big City Funk
19. Wind Song
20. Good Time Rhythm & Blues