Dead & Company – XL Center, Hartford, CT 11-22-17 (Live) (2019) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Dead & Company – XL Center, Hartford, CT 11-22-17 (Live) (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 02:53:20 minutes | 1,87 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Rhino

The Northeastern United States, and New England in particular, were always very good to the Grateful Dead in terms of fan support, and the Dead rewarded New England in turn with many appearances and memorable shows in the area. Connecticut’s state capital hosted numerous shows by the band, primarily at the Hartford Civic Center, which had been renamed the XL Center by the time Dead & Company arrived there for this excellent performance.

The band kicks things off by bringing a bit of New Orleans to Hartford with a lively “Iko Iko,” and keeps the dancers going with “Shakedown Street,” “They Love Each Other” and “Loose Lucy” before ending the first set with a lovely “Bird Song.” The second set opens things up with “Estimated Prophet” and “Eyes Of The World,” followed by a beautiful rendition of the heartbreaking “China Doll,” featuring Oteil Burbridge on lead vocal. The energy ratchets right back up with “The Other One,” exceptionally abstract Drums and Space segments and a rare revival of what came to be known as the “Spanish Jam,” an instrumental piece in part inspired by the Miles Davis composition “Solea.” A powerful “Black Peter” sets up a finale of “Uncle John’s Band” and “U.S. Blues,” and then Bob Dylan’s mournful “Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door” as encore.

1. Iko, Iko 10:07
2. Shakedown Street 11:15
3. They Love Each Other 13:09
4. Loose Lucy 09:23
5. Friend of the Devil 07:20
6. Bird Song 14:56
7. Estimated Prophet 16:44
8. Eyes of the World 17:54
9. China Doll 09:06
10. The Other One 09:09
11. Drums 07:07
12. Space 02:34
13. Spanish Jam 02:27
14. Black Peter 15:41
15. Uncle John’s Band 11:30
16. U.S. Blues 07:34
17. Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door 07:24