David Grisman Quartet & Svend Asmussen – Live at Fat Tuesdays NYC 1986 (1986/2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

David Grisman Quartet & Svend Asmussen – Live at Fat Tuesdays NYC 1986 (1986/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 02:27:42 | 2,68 GB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Acoustic Disc

Acoustic Disc has announced the release of David Grisman Quartet with Svend Asmussen Live at Fat Tuesday’s in a high definition, download format.

Asmussen, from Denmark, was an incredible violinist and one of the true pioneers of string jazz. He made his first recordings with the great Oscar Aleman in 1935, played and recorded with Fats Waller, Duke Ellington, Benny Goodman among others, and is featured on several of our projects, including a four volume Acoustic Oasis set of his classic early recordings. Grisman met Svend in 1985 at the Jazzhut Montmartre in Copenhagen and they became fast friends, toured together and released an album, Svingin’ with Svend in 1987.

This collection of live performances was recorded during a six-night stint at Fat Tuesdays, then Manhattan’s premiere jazz spot, in 1986 when Svend toured with the David Grisman Quartet, which then featured Jim Kerwin (bass), George Marsh (drums and percussion) and Dimitri Vandellos (guitars).

This set also includes two tracks with special guest mandolinist extraordinaire, Andy Statman. As Dawg puts it, “Svend passed away in 2017, just three weeks shy of his 101st birthday. To celebrate our friendship, here are some musical memories from a great week of music at Fat Tuesdays nearly 35 years ago.”

01 – EMD
02 – Svingin’ with Svend
03 – Steppin’ with Stephane
04 – Nadja
05 – Opus 38
06 – Band Intros
07 – Embraceable You
08 – Nuages
09 – Brazilian Breeze
10 – The Spirit Feel
11 – Chopin Prelude
12 – Limehouse Blues

01 – 16/16
02 – It Don’t Mean a Thing
03 – Jitterbug Waltz
04 – A Fiddler in Rio
05 – Dawg Grass
06 – Dawgmatism
07 – Swing Mineur
08 – Bag’s Groove*
09 – Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
10 – Gypsy Medley
11 – June Night