David Bowie – Welcome to the Blackout (Live in London ’78) (2018) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

David Bowie – Welcome to the Blackout (Live in London ’78) (2018) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:47:17 minutes | 2,3 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Mastersm Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz. | Front cover | © Rhino

In a not entirely unexpected move, Parlophone will issue David Bowie‘s Welcome To the Blackout (Live London ’78) as a two-CD set in June.
This live album was taken from performances in London in June/July 1978 on Bowie’s Isolar II tour and was mixed by Bowie and David Richards a month after the tour ended, in January 1979.
The recordings were unreleased until Record Store Day 2018, when this was issued as a triple vinyl package and it became the best-selling release from that day.
The two-CD edition of Welcome To the Blackout will be issued on 29 June 2018. On the same date, a red vinyl edition of the Christiane F. soundtrack will be released on RED vinyl, along with a 10-inch black vinyl edition of the Baal EP (the tracks from which were included on Re:Call 3 in the A New Career In A New Town box set). Both of these vinyl releases will only be available in ‘Bricks and Mortar’ record stores (i.e. physical shops).

After completing Low and Heroes, the first two albums of his Berlin trilogy, David Bowie spent most of 1978 touring the world. During this huge tour, baptised as Isolar II, he sang in front of a million people across 70 concerts in 12 countries! The star was free from his addiction problems which up until then had seen him go on stage only after having ingested astronomical quantities of cocaine… Recorded in April and May 1978 and released in September the same year, the live Stage album showed a Bowie in full transition, struggling with his glam beginnings, his soul music future and his present new wave. First published for the occasion of the Record Store Days in April 2018, Welcome To The Blackout (Live London’78) also captures this period. Recorded at Earls Court in London on June 30th and July 1st 1979 by Tony Visconti, this is a previously unreleased double live album offering more energetic versions than those on stage. The fascinating tracks from Low and Heroeslose some of their eccentricity on stage. And the “old hits” like Rebel Rebel and Ziggy Stardust gain in luxury what they lose in violence, even if on Suffragette City the singer does seem totally possessed. Finally, the lead guitarist Adrian Belew and rhythmic guitarist Carlos Alomar knit together stunning interventions to accompany the Thin White Duke. An unmissable document for Bowie fans.  – Marc Zisman

1. Warszawa (Live) 06:27
2. “Heroes” (Live) 07:33
3. What In The World (Live) 04:01
4. Be My Wife (Live) 02:45
5. The Jean Genie (Live) 06:34
6. Blackout (Live) 03:42
7. Sense Of Doubt (Live) 03:25
8. Speed Of Life (Live) 02:37
9. Sound And Vision (Live) 03:10
10. Breaking Glass (Live) 03:31
11. Fame (Live) 03:52
12. Beauty And The Beast (Live) 04:58
13. Five Years (Live) 06:08
14. Soul Love (Live) 02:51
15. Star (Live) 02:30
16. Hang On To Yourself (Live) 02:39
17. Ziggy Stardust (Live) 03:24
18. Suffragette City (Live) 03:50
19. Art Decade (Live) 03:08
20. Alabama Song (Live) 03:58
21. Station To Station (Live) 11:08
22. TVC 15 (Live) 04:17
23. Stay (Live) 06:58
24. Rebel Rebel (Live) 03:51