Dave Douglas – The Dream: Monash Sessions (2021) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Dave Douglas – The Dream: Monash Sessions (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 33:11 minutes | 442 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Greenleaf Music

I’m very grateful to Paul Williamson, Robert Burke, Jordan Murray, Johannes Luebbers and the SZCSoM for instigating the invitation to compose and record this music with these fine musicians. In looking for an Australian connection to inspire the work, I stumbled on the prose and poetry of Kevin Gilbert. His connection to land, to people, ancestors, and to love, moved me deeply. The imagery in his work, and as I later found out, his graphic artwork, felt keenly attuned to sound and musical expression. Each piece was inspired by one of his works and, with deep respect and feeling, we crafted a lyric and an improvisational content in collaboration. All the players here are excellent, and in each round of recording and production, these pieces became finely honed and sharp edged gems.

The process of recording varied greatly: some pieces used pre-produced audio guides, others had more open ended and free-form frameworks. Each musician recorded their part in their home studio on their own schedule, reacting and adapting to recordings made by other ensemble members. Convenings differs slightly in this regard: the score is a series of instructions for each performer to be performed strictly in time; the musicians all recorded their parts by themselves without hearing the others. All of the audio on the album was then blended together after the fact, and brilliantly mixed and mastered by Daniel Tan and Hadyn Buxton.

01. Dave Douglas – The Dream (04:13)
02. Dave Douglas – Noble Truths (05:48)
03. Dave Douglas – Convenings (08:54)
04. Dave Douglas – Tree (08:16)
05. Dave Douglas – The Pen (05:58)