Dave Bennett – Blood Moon (2017) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Dave Bennett – Blood Moon (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 50:59  minutes | 542 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Mack Avenue Records

A “blood moon” is a natural phenomenon that evokes a sense of foreboding yet captivating wonderment. However, the moon eventually returns to its natural state, shedding its reddish hues back to normalcy. Clarinetist Dave Bennett has not returned to normalcy and neither has his music. Blood Moon, Bennett’s sophomore release for Mack Avenue Records, is a dark and reflective collection that deals with loss, heartbreak, and ultimately a return to faith and hope.

“During the period of establishing what this new album’s direction was going to be – pop? gospel? – I spoke with Mack Avenue’s president who said, ‘Why don’t you do your own stuff?’ That gave me the confidence to finally sit down and create my own songs for this record,” says Bennett. Blood Moon finds Bennett bravely exploring this new terrain of original music, as he draws on influences from Phil Collins, Peter Gabriel and Genesis. “I tend to feel emotions somewhat magnified…whether good or bad,” he says. “I’m very thankful I was given this chance to create something of my own, to share my own stories. I’ve always admired how Phil Collins and Peter Gabriel could write songs that people could relate to on a deeply emotional level. Even though I’ve written instrumental music, as opposed to lyrical songs, I hope and pray the listener might find solace in the music we created.”

To co-write five original songs, Bennett teamed up with Toronto-based composer, arranger and bassist Shelly Berger. The two met in 2010 through a mutual friend and instantly discovered their common sensibilities. “We both have a great love for all styles of music, especially pop,” Bennett says. “We wanted to come up with something that hasn’t been done before. Something original. It was really a dream come true working with him.”

01. Blood Moon
02. A Long Goodbye
03. Falling Sky
04. Hallelujah
05. Wichita Lineman
06. (Back Home Again in) Indiana
07. 13 Fingers
08. Down In Honky Tonk Town
09. The Good The Bad and The Ugly
10. In My Life
11. Heavy Heart