Dakota Staton – Softly…..’Round Midnight (2001/2019) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Dakota Staton – Softly…..’Round Midnight (2001/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:19:30 minutes | 230 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RevOla

This two-fer reissue features a pair of out of print Dakota Staton LPs: “Softly” and “Round Midnight”, both originally issued on Capitol Records in 1960 and 1961, respectively. Highlights among the 24 pop standards include “The Folks Who Live on the Hill”, “The Very Thought of You”, and “I Can’t Get Started”. This is a nice sampler of familiar items that should satisfy the needs of casual fans.

Dakota Staton has long been a fine jazz singer who is at her best on blues and standards. Usually her ballad renditions make for a fine contrast, but this out-of-print LP is a bit of a disappointment. Staton is backed by strings, flutes, French horns, a harp and a rhythm section arranged by Benny Carter. Unfortunately, the strings often weigh down the music, and the worst aspects of Staton’s singing are often emphasized with exaggerated emotions, a touch too much vibrato and a sameness to many of her interpretations. The dozen songs mostly stick to older standards and are not completely without merit – Dakota Staton’s fans will want it anyway, but she is represented by much more exciting performances elsewhere.


01 – You’re Mine You
02 – Dedicated To You
03 – Close Your Eyes
04 – Solitude
05 – My Wish
06 – The Very Thought Of You
07 – Be Anything
08 – Congratulations to Someone
09 – Whispering Grass
10 – Old Folks
11 – Body and Soul
12 – I Can’t Get Started
13 – ‘Round Midnight
14 – Knock Me a Kiss
15 – Let Them Talk
16 – Indiana
17 – You Call It Madness
18 – So in Love
19 – I Won’t Worry
20 – Don’t Explain
21 – Will You Be Mine?
22 – Along About Midnight
23 – The Folks Who Live on the Hill
24 – Hey, Lawdy Mama!

Tracks “01-12” is “Softly” (LP ‘1960 – Stereo)
Tracks “12-24” is “‘Round Midnight” (LP ‘1961 – Mono)