Cypress Hill – Elephants On Acid (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Cypress Hill – Elephants On Acid (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 51:47 minutes | 558 MB | Genre: Rap, Hip-Hop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Front Cover | © BMG Rights Management GmbH

Eight years have passed since the Californians of Cypress Hill’s last album yet the band are still all over the scene, both with solo projects and collaborations. Cypress Hill’s energy on stage is unparalleled, which guarantees them a place at most festivals around the world. The promise of this new album, “Elephants on Acid”, is primarily based on the return of DJ Muggs, their brilliant producer, who is picking up right where he left off, between sixties psychedelics, blazing breakbeats and smoky mysticism.

Just like on the very detailed gothic album cover, Muggs unearths a monster buried deep underground and resurrects the legend of “Temple of Boom”, the band’s labyrinth album released in 1995. Between drugs and spirituality, B-Real, the main rapper, reinterprets Cypress Hill’s rather dark repertoire, halfway between Los Angeles Latino culture and hallucinating fantasy à la H.P. Lovecraft. With a few more recreational tracks like “Crazy” or “Oh Na Na”, which make the group sound like a mutant gypsy marching band, Cypress Hill are revitalised, though slightly removed from the saturated guitars of their earlier releases. Ending on “Stairway To Heaven” which is reminiscent of the ethereal soul of Portishead or Massive Attack, “Elephants on Acid” is a multi-layered journey around the mind, in which listeners can both lose and find themselves.  – Aurélien Chapuis

01. Tusko (Intro)
02. Band of Gypsies
03. Put Em in the Ground
04. Satao (Interval)
05. Jesus Was a Stoner
06. Pass The Knife
07. LSD (Interval)
08. Oh Na Na
09. Holy Mountain (Interval)
10. Locos
11. Falling Down
12. Elephant Acid (Interlude)
13. Insane OG
14. The 5th Angel (Instrumental)
15. Warlord
16. Reefer Man
17. Thru the Rabbit Hole (Interlude)
18. Crazy
19. Muggs is Dead
20. Blood on My Hands Again
21. Stairway to Heaven