Curtis Stigers – One More For The Road (2017) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Curtis Stigers – One More For The Road (2017) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 33:31 minutes | 428 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Booklet, Front Cover | © Concord Music
Recorded live in Copenhagen at The DR Koncerthuset, January 2014

Just in case the title One More for the Road didn’t suggest Sinatra, Curtis Stigers underscores his debt to the Chairman of the Board by patterning the artwork for this 2017 collaboration with the Danish Radio Big Band after 1966’s Sinatra at The Sands. In fact, One More for the Road is something of a salute to that 1966 record, containing eight songs from that double album and adhering to the snazzy swing of late-period Frank. Stigers even channels that sensibility into “Summer Wind,” a gentle breeze of a single, and that’s one of the distinguishing factors of One More for the Road. Another distinguishing factor is the cheerful blare of the Dutch Radio Big Band, who are big and brassy without overwhelming the singer. For his part, Stigers doesn’t mimic Sinatra, appropriating just a bit of swagger — and, sometimes, the arrangements — but plays with his phrasing and alternates between crisp enunciation and elongated notes. This is enough to make One More for the Road something a bit different than a straight-up tribute to Ol’ Blue Eyes because it shows how Stigers can hold his presence on-stage while sharing the spotlight with his idol.

1 Come Fly With Me 03:20
2 I’ve Got You Under My Skin 03:51
3 Don’t Worry ‘Bout Me 03:38
4 You Make Me Feel So Young 03:03
5 My Kind Of Town 02:45
6 Fly Me To The Moon 02:57
7 Summer Wind 03:19
8 They Can’t Take That Away From Me 03:13
9 The Lady Is A Tramp 03:16
10 One For My Baby (And One More For The Road) 04:12

Curtis Stigers, vocals
The Danish Radio Big Band