Cristina Braga – Samba, Jazz And Love (2013) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Cristina Braga – Samba, Jazz And Love (2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 49:22 minutes | 962 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © ENJA RECORDS Matthias Winckelmann

When I am elected Pope or President, the powers here are a push, then the samba will be the global dance of love. Anything on the Enja label is a musical ‘gimme’ with the second release from Cristina Braga no exception. As much diversity as one will find in Brazilian music depending on which part of the country you happen to be staying in, it is the same diversity that makes Samba Jazz and Love such an artistic delight.

Braga surrounds her magical voice with trumpet, flugelhorn, vibraphonist and the spot on nuances of drums and percussion that take what could have been considered an ordinary samba influenced record and instead pushed the project perhaps heights that Braga herself never knew were possible. The use of the harp by Braga fits in well with the compositions by some of Brazils most influential composers. This is Brazilian fusion, the use of such a wide variety and virtuosity of both music and voice occasionally the collective sounds as one. Intimate yet powerful. A subtle rhythmic pulse lends itself to a layer of what is referred to as chamber jazz in the west, emotional and organic yet powerful and dynamic. The shifting harmonics without every losing her lyrical path or intensity is a thing of beauty.

A great deal of thought went into the tunes from such composers as Chico Buarque, Roberto Menescal and Tom Jobim are but a few names to be dropped in this stunning outing. All of the vocals are in Portuguese. I speak no foreign languages with the exception of enough Italian to either get my face slapped or successful purchase a drink for a lady at the bar. Language is no barrier, especially here.

Dark Betty Carter like ballads, virtuoso harp playing on Jobim’s Canta Mais and the Afro Brazilian style with the captivating melodu of Preciso Me all contribute to the success of an emotionally touching and deceptively complex recording.

01. Love Parfait
02. O Barquinho
03. Samba e Amor
04. Desafinado
05. Rio Paraiso
06. Triste de Quem
07. Só Danço Samba
08. Preciso Me Encontrar
09. Canta Mais
10. Chovendo na Roseira
11. Desde Que o Samba É Samba