Conspirare and Craig Hella Johnson – Pablo Neruda: The Poet Sings (2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Conspirare and Craig Hella Johnson – Pablo Neruda: The Poet Sings (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz  | Time – 01:13:42 minutes | 1,12 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © harmonia mundi

This spectacular release from GRAMMY® award winning choral ensemble Conspirare features a vibrant tribute to the revered Chilean poet and statesman Pablo Neruda (1904-1973). The recording’s uniquely colorful and sensual program was originally featured as part of Conspirare’s concert series entitled The Poet Sings. Neruda had a gift as a poetic story teller of deep human experience, whether he wrote of love or of common things.

Craig Hella Johnson leads Conspirare in this vibrant tribute to revered Chilean poet and statesman Pablo Neruda (1904-1973), whose life-affirming poetry is the inspiration for these captivating choral settings by Donald Grantham, Shawn Kirchner and Cary Ratcliff, all recorded here for the first time. ‘In this recording, Conspirare focuses its attention and exploration on the greatly revered Chilean poet Pablo Neruda (1904-1973), whose poems have stirred souls around the world. I have heard more than one passionate reader exclaim ‘Neruda IS music!’ Neruda s personal universe and the many realms of feeling, color and texture he envisaged with his words have inspired many artists to respond with new creations. It is our hope that the extraordinary musical settings by Cary Ratcliff, Shawn Kirchner, and Donald Grantham can serve as a conduit for an ever deepening experience with this sublime and powerful poetry. For the uninitiated, may it serve as a portal to his art.’ Craig Hella Johnson ‘So, through me, freedom and the sea will make their answer to the shuttered heart.’


Cary Ratcliff (1953-)
01. I. Oda a las Cosas
02. II. Oda a la Cama
03. III. Oda a la Guitarra
04. IV. Oda a las Tijeras
05. V. Oda al Pan

Shawn Kirchner (1970-)
06. Soneto 53: Tu sangre en la mia
07. Soneto 52: Tu voz

Donald Grantham (1947-)
08. La canción desesperada

Conspirare Chamber Players
Craig Hella Johnson, conductor
Recorded September 2014 at Sauder Concert Hall, Goshen College, IN