Commodores – Live! (1977/2015) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Commodores – Live! (1977/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:13:15 minutes | 3,24 GB | Genre: Soul, Funk, R&B
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Motown

This live album recorded during The Commodores’s sold-out 1977 tour came on the heels of a string of big singles and includes all the band’s hits to that point along with studio tracks and a new single, Too Hot Ta Trot, which the group would perform a year later in the disco film Thank God It’s Friday. Of special interest here is the extended, 10-minute plus version of Brick House.

After hearing this album I can see why they are so popular. Everyone gets involved at a live concert, but I’ve never heard a band and an audience enjoy the time quite so much. Lionel Richie is exceptional in the role of getting the fans participating, and the band seems to feed off the enthusiasm. It really sounds like a concert that even every member of the band must have went away from saying that they loved every minute of it. ‘Brick House’ in particular is simply a classic fans/band get together that stands out in any era. A number of the classics are on the album, such as ‘Easy’ (another great sing along) and ‘Just To Be Close To You’. One of the great things about the album is that Lionel Richie and the rest of the band don’t just rush through the songs, but, again, build up the moment with the audience before launching into great sounding renditions. Modern groups dominate my album collection, but this is a concert that I truely would love to have been at.

01. Won’t You Come Dance With Me (Live / 1977)
02. Slippery When Wet (Live / 1977)
03. Come Inside (Live / 1977)
04. Just To Be Close To You (Live / 1977)
05. Funny Feelings (Live / 1977)
06. Fancy Dancer (Live / 1977)
07. Sweet Love (Live / 1977)
08. Zoom (Live / 1977 / Extended Version)
09. Easy (Live / 1977)
10. I Feel Sanctified (Live / 1977)
11. Brick House (Live / 1977)
12. Too Hot Ta Trot