Commodores – Caught In The Act (1975/2015) [Qobuz 24bit/192kHz]

Commodores – Caught In The Act (1975/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 00:37:54 minutes | 1,62 GB | Genre: Soul, Funk, R&B
Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | © Motown Records
Recorded, Mixed and Mastered at Motown Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA.

The sophomore slump wasn’t a problem for the Commodores. The band’s first album, Machine Gun, was quite promising, but its sophomore album, Caught in the Act, is even stronger. This superb 1975 LP, which the Commodores produced and arranged with James Carmichael, is more diverse than its mostly up-tempo predecessor. There are plenty of up-tempo funk gems; anyone with a taste for hard, sweaty 1970s funk won’t be disappointed by “Look What You’ve Done to Me,” “Wide Open,” or the hit “Slippery When Wet,” which soared to number one on Billboard’s R&B singles chart and urges unfaithful husbands to give up their adulterous ways. But Caught in the Act, unlike Machine Gun, doesn’t neglect slower material; “You Don’t Know That I Know” and “This Is Your Life” are first-rate soul ballads. Excellent from start to finish, Caught in the Act is among the Commodores’ finest albums. -Alex Henderson

1 Wide Open 3:30
2 Slippery When Wet 3:19
3 The Bump 2:52
4 I’m Ready 3:22
5 This Is Your Life 5:52
6 Let’s Do It Right 3:44
7 Better Never Than Forever 3:49
8 Look What You’ve Done To Me 3:54
9 You Don’t Know That I Know 6:33
10 Wide Open (Reprise) 1:00

Lionel Richie – vocals, saxophone
Thomas McClary – vocals, guitar
Milan Williams – guitar, keyboards
Ronald LaPread – bass guitar
William King – trumpet
Walter Orange – drums, vocals



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.