Cold War Kids – L.A. Divine (2017) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Cold War Kids – L.A. Divine (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 43:22 minutes | 534 MB | Genre: Indie Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Front Cover | © CAPITOL

LA Divine, Cold War Kids most expansive and ambitious effort so far, pays tribute to Los Angeles in all its strange glory, embodying the Long Beach-bred band s endless fascination with their adopted hometown. In many ways, LA is the least divine city, the most hedonistic and irreverent and disconnected from history, says Willett. LA’s so massive, I feel like I’m always finding something new in it, adds bassist Matt Maust. It s an incredibly weird place, and I’m happy to have made an album that totally honors that weirdness.

Over the years, a growing sense of maturity emerged in Cold War Kids’ music, with albums like Hold My Home proving that they’re most successful when they’re most straightforward. L.A. Divine builds on that album’s solidly anthemic sound: “Love Is Mystical” and “Restless” are fine examples of the band at its stomping best. However, Cold War Kids also give L.A. Divine a little more pop sheen, and the combination of Nathan Willett’s falsetto and the huge harmonies surrounding him is strangely reminiscent of Fun. on highlights like the power ballad “Part of the Night” and “No Reason to Run,” a celebration of monogamy that sounds equally surprised and delighted. Indeed, much of L.A. Divine explores commitment, whether it’s to a person or a city (as the title suggests, Cold War Kids’ hometown was the album’s muse). The band makes settling down — but not settling — sound less than boring on songs such as “So Tied Up,” “Open Up the Heavens,” and “Invincible,” which tussle between vulnerability and bravado as they return to Cold War Kids’ blazing rock. On the whole, L.A. Divine is a little less consistent than Hold My Home; the band’s relentless intensity can get a bit exhausting, while the interludes sprinkled throughout the album feel more distracting than transporting. Nevertheless, L.A. Divine shows that Cold War Kids continue to expand their range — and if they’re becoming more accessible with each album, it’s on their own terms. ~ Heather Phares

01. Love Is Mystical
02. Can We Hang On?
03. So Tied Up feat. Bishop Briggs
04. Restless
05. LA River
06. No Reason To Run
07. Open Up The Heavens
08. Invincible
09. Wilshire Protest
10. Luck Down
11. Ordinary Idols
12. Cameras Always On
13. Part Of The Night
14. Free To Breathe

Nathan Willett – lead vocals, piano, guitar
Matt Maust – bass
David Quon – guitar, keyboards, percussion
Joe Plummer – drums, percussion
Matthew Schwartz – keyboards, guitar, backing vocals