Colbie Caillat – Coco (2007/2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Colbie Caillat – Coco (2007/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 43:31 minutes | 892 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Universal Records

Coco is the debut studio album by American singer-songwriter Colbie Caillat. The album was released on July 17, 2007 in the United States, debuting at number five on the US Billboard 200, selling 51,000 copies in its first week. The lead single “Bubbly” was a huge international hit.

Caillat met producer Mikal Blue, who hired her to sing on techno songs used at fashion shows. Caillat began playing the acoustic guitar at the age of 19 and Blue helped her record her first song. She auditioned for American Idol but was rejected at the pre-audition stage and was unable to sing for the judges. The second time she auditioned for the show, she sang her own original song “Bubbly” and was rejected once again. However, Caillat expressed gratitude at the judges’ decision, saying “I was shy. I was nervous. I didn’t look the greatest. I wasn’t ready for it yet. I was glad, when I auditioned, that they said no.”

The popularity of Caillat’s MySpace profile led her to become the number-one unsigned singer in her genre for four consecutive months. Her father also produced her demo songs, and was involved in production of later albums. Coco was produced by Mikal Blue, with additional production by Caillat, her father Ken Caillat and Jason Reeves.

Sweetness rules on Colbie Caillat’s debut, Coco, which is perhaps only appropriate for an album bearing that name. The record doesn’t play like a toasty mug of chocolate on a winter’s day, though; it’s a sugary lemonade on a breezy summer afternoon. It’s light and comforting, a familiar blend of sunny pop and singer/songwriter tropes that flirt with clich’e but never sound hackneyed — a lighter, brighter spin on Norah Jones that sounds like an ideal soundtrack to a few hours in a cozy coffeehouse or a montage on Grey’s Anatomy, whatever comes first. If that gives the impression that Caillat is a little calculated — and if her music-biz heritage (her dad co-produced Fleetwood Mac’s Rumours and Tusk) gives the sense that she may have had a silver spoon, and if her celebrated MySpace popularity is also initially suspect — then as an album Coco shows no crassness or coldness: it flows easily and, yes, sweetly, filled with gently ingratiating melodies and delivered with warmth and a casual charisma that proves to be quite endearing by the end of the record. Caillat doesn’t attempt anything approaching a major statement — the album is filled with songs about love and life — but that’s her appeal: she sings about simple, everyday things in an unassuming manner, letting her melodies and girl-next-door charm carry the day, and they do so winningly on this nicely mellow debut. – Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1. Colbie Caillat – Oxygen
2. Colbie Caillat – The Little Things
3. Colbie Caillat – One Fine Wire
4. Colbie Caillat – Bubbly
5. Colbie Caillat – Feelings Show
6. Colbie Caillat – Midnight Bottle
7. Colbie Caillat – Realize
8. Colbie Caillat – Battle
9. Colbie Caillat – Tailor Made
10. Colbie Caillat – Magic
11. Colbie Caillat – Tied Down
12. Colbie Caillat – Capri