Chuck Mangione – Children Of Sanchez (1978/2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Chuck Mangione – Children Of Sanchez (1978/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:23:00 minutes | 1,66 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © A&M

Children of Sanchez is the sixteenth overall album by jazz artist Chuck Mangione. It is also the soundtrack to the 1978 film The Children of Sanchez. Chuck Mangione won a Grammy for Best Pop Instrumental Performance for the title song, “Children of Sanchez”. The title track is sung by Don Potter.

Thanks to the Latin-inflected title track, Children of Sanchez became another huge hit for Chuck Mangione. The title song even earned him a Grammy for Best Pop Instrumental Performance, and serious jazz listeners will spot a problem with that award — it was for pop, not jazz. That, of course, is an accurate assessment of Mangione’s music, since there isn’t much improvisation on the album at all. Instead, there’s a selection of Spanish and Latin-flavored instrumentals, arranged as if to give the impression that the album is a song cycle. If so, it’s a song cycle/concept album that doesn’t go anywhere. Nevertheless, there’s enough pleasant music here to satisfy fans of his pop stylings. – Stephen Thomas Erlewine


1. Chuck Mangione – Children Of Sanchez
2. Chuck Mangione – Lullabye (Instrumental)
3. Chuck Mangione – Fanfare
4. Chuck Mangione – Pilgrimage (Pt. I)
5. Chuck Mangione – Pilgrimage (Pt. II)
6. Chuck Mangione – Consuelo’s Love Theme
7. Chuck Mangione – Hot Consuelo
8. Chuck Mangione – Death Scene
9. Chuck Mangione – Market Place
10. Chuck Mangione – Echano (1978 Album Version)
11. Chuck Mangione – Bellavia (1978 Album Version)
12. Chuck Mangione – Lullabye (Vocal Version)
13. Chuck Mangione – Medley
14. Chuck Mangione – B’Bye
15. Chuck Mangione – Children Of Sanchez