Charlotte Gainsbourg – Rest (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Charlotte Gainsbourg – Rest (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 48:23 minutes | 564 MB | Genre: Alternative, Indie
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Because Music

Sometimes it takes a personal tragedy to catalyse an artist’s practise, a crack in everything, to paraphrase Leonard Cohen, that let’s the creative light in. Just such a traumatic fissure occurred in Charlotte Gainsbourg’s life in late 2013 with the sudden death in Paris of her half-sister, the fashion photographer Kate Barry. Reeling from the news and inevitably plunged into an extended period of grieving, the distressing event had transpired just as Charlotte was initiating activity on a new album, the successor to 2010’s IRM. Rather than put a total brake on creative proceedings, however, the anguish would slowly but inexorably find expression in the pages of Charlotte’s journal and thus, eventually, in the lyrics of the songs that she would write for Rest, her long-gestating but ultimately cathartic third studio album.

01. Ring-a-Ring O’ Roses 04:28
02. Lying with You 03:18
03. Kate 03:41
04. Deadly Valentine 06:05
05. I’m a Lie 03:29
06. Rest 03:38
07. Sylvia Says 04:27
08. Songbird in a Cage 04:32
09. Dans vos airs 03:33
10. Les crocodiles 03:17
11. Les oxalis 07:57