Charles Mingus – Mingus Plays Piano (1963/1997) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Charles Mingus – Mingus Plays Piano (1963/1997)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 41:28 minutes | 870 MB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital Booklet | © Impulse Records

On this brilliant 1963 release, bassist and composer extraordinaire Charles Mingus delivers a fiery, startling imaginative album of solo piano takes of his compositions, free improvisations, and jazz standards. Included are covers of “Body and Soul” and “I Can’t Get Started,” as well as originals such as “Orange Was the Color of Her Dress, Then Silk Blues.” The classic 1963 release by one of jazz’s great revolutionaries is a great insight into the imagination of one of the most imaginative and prolific jazz musicians of the 20th Century.

Bassist Charles Mingus would never qualify as a virtuoso on the piano but his technique was reasonably impressive and his imagination quite brilliant. This unique solo piano album (which was reissued in 1997) has a few standards (“Body and Soul,” “Memories of You” and “I’m Getting Sentimental over You”) along with some freely improvised originals, most of which are quite fascinating to hear, as if one were listening to Mingus think aloud.

01 – Myself When I Am Real
02 – I Can’t Get Started
03 – Body And Soul
04 – Roland Kirk’s Message
05 – Memories Of You
06 – She’s Just Miss Popular Hybrid
07 – Orange Was The Color Of Her Dress, Then Silk Blues
08 – Meditations For Moses
09 – Old Portrait
10 – I’m Getting Sentimental Over You