Charles Lloyd & The Marvels + Lucinda Williams – Vanished Gardens (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Charles Lloyd & The Marvels + Lucinda Williams – Vanished Gardens (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:13:17 minutes | 1,27 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Blue Note

No need to have the same musical tastes to appreciate each other’s cuisine… The proof of this truism can be found in this collaboration between a revered queen of alternative country and a respected old sage of modern jazz: Lucinda Williams and Charles Lloyd, a one-day couple supported by a five-star cast of musicians in which we find guitarist Bill Frisell, pedal steel master Greg Leisz, bassist Reuben Rogers and drummer Eric Harland… Both Lloyd and Williams have previously lead a revolution in their respective fields. Here, the duo are celebrating a certain idea of America with an open-minded repertoire. A heterogeneous menu mixing jazz, blues, country and rock’n’roll, with Williams only singing on half of the ten tracks. Vanished Gardensoffer up Jimi Hendrix (Angel) as well as Thelonious Monk (Monk’s Mood) and Roberta Flack (Ballad of The Sad Young Men), though they also include some of their signature dishes (three by Charles Lloyd and four by Lucinda Williams). This is, above all, a refined and profound album; the work of two musicians who know how to digest well decades of music. – Marc Zisman

1. Defiant (Charles Lloyd)
2. Dust featuring Lucinda Williams (Lucinda Williams)
3. Vanished Gardens (Charles Lloyd)
4. Ventura featuring Lucinda Williams (Lucinda Williams)
5. Ballad of The Sad Young Men (Tommy Wolf/Fran Landesman)
6. We’ve Come Too Far To Turn Around featuring Lucinda Williams (Lucinda Williams)
7. Blues for Langston and LaRue (Charles Lloyd)
8. Unsuffer Me featuring Lucinda Williams (Lucinda Williams)
9. Monk’s Mood (Thelonious Monk)
10. Angel featuring Lucinda Williams (Jimi Hendrix)

Bill Frisell, guitar
Greg Leisz, pedal steel guitar
Reuben Rogers, bass
Eric Harland, drums