Cappella Nova – James MacMillan: Tenebrae (2007) [LINN FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Cappella Nova – James MacMillan: Tenebrae (2007)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 70:21 minutes | 1,08 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: LINN  | Artwork: Front cover

The outstanding Scottish group gives a beautiful performance of three world premiere recordings of works by leading contemporary composer James MacMillan. Originally released in 2007 MacMillan: Tenebrae has been re-issued as part of Linn’s ECHO series which offers a second chance to enjoy the best of the label’s award-winning catalogue.

Tenebrae Responsories is scored for vocal octet and speaks to all of every faith and none, of the power of love and redemption through personal sacrifice. Tenebrae is full of the instantly recognisable stylistic colours that are MacMillan hallmarks such as his use of ornamentation, placed on rather than before the beat, in the style of the Celtic folk tradition. Cappella Nova has enjoyed a twenty five year association with MacMillan; many premiere performances later the choir has established an intuitive response to his work and a passion for his creativity which is clearly evident.

01 – Strathclyde Motets Mitte manum tuam
02 – Strathclyde Motets In splendoribus sanctorum
03 – Introit Give me Justice
04 – Missa Brevis Kyrie
05 – Missa Brevis Gloria
06 – Missa Brevis Sanctus
07 – Missa Brevis Agnus Dei
08 – Missa Brevis At the Conclusion
09 – Strathclyde Motets Data est mihi
10 – Strathclyde Motets Sedebit Dominus Rex
11 – Strathclyde Motets Factus est repente
12 – Strathclyde Motets Videns Dominus
13 – Strathclyde Motets Dominus dabit benignitatem
14 – Tenebrae Responsories Tenebrae factae sunt
15 – Tenebrae Responsories Tradiderunt me
16 – Tenebrae Responsories Jesum Tradidit

Recorded in Greyfriars Kirk, Edinburgh, 18th-21st April 2007.
Engineered by Philip Hobbs.