Cappella Amsterdam and Daniel Reuss – Josquin des Prez: Miserere mei Deus (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Cappella Amsterdam and Daniel Reuss – Josquin des Prez: Miserere mei Deus (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:06:00 minutes | 1,21 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © harmonia mundi

This fine work from the Capella Amsterdam led by Daniel Reuss begins and ends with a lament: one to Ockeghem by Josquin around 1497, and one for Josquin by Gombert in 1521. These two requiems bookend an impressive range of religious motets by Josquin (in particular funeral motets) which mix Latin and French lyrics and religious lines and songs, invoking sylphs, nymphs and muses. “Nymphes des bois, déesses des fontaines” [Nymphs of the woods, goddesses of the fountains], wrote Jean Molinet in his epitaph to Master Jean Ockgam, “changez vos vois cleres et haultaines / En cris trenchantz et lamentations; Acoutrez vous d’abitz de deuil: Josquin, Pierchon, Brumel, Compere, Et plorez grosses larmes d’œil: Perdu avez vostre bon Pere” [change your clear and proud voices/ Into piercing cries and lamentations; Put on your mourning garb: Josquin, Pierchon, Brumel, Compere, And cry great tears: you have lost your good father] – it is clear that Josquin made use of these lines in his motet. The attentive listener will notice that the composer often introduces Gregorian cantus firmus into the middle of the song, embroidering it with a rich melodic and harmonic tissue (in French) and freeing it of all constraints. This is the sound of the great Renaissance motet being born.

1. La déploration [sur la mort] de Johannes Ockeghem, IJ. 66: Nymphes des bois – Requiem æternam 03:30
2. Nimphes, nappés: Circumdederunt me 02:19
3. In principio erat Verbum: I. In principio erat Verbum 02:40
4. In principio erat Verbum: II. Fuit homo missus a Deo 04:35
5. In principio erat Verbum: III. Et verbum caro factum est 01:46
6. Absolve quæsumus, Domine 03:40
7. Absalon, fili mi 03:30
8. Planxit autem David: I. Planxit autem David 03:54
9. Planxit autem David: II. Montes Gelboe 02:17
10. Planxit autem David: III. Sagitta Jonathae 03:24
11. Planxit autem David: IV. Doleo super te 02:42
12. De Profundis – Requiem æternam 04:32
13. Miserere mei, Deus, IJ. 50: I. Miserere mei, Deus 05:33 Unavail. individ. LISTEN
14. Miserere mei, Deus, IJ. 50: II. Auditui meo dabis gaudium 04:13
15. Miserere mei, Deus, IJ. 50: III. Domine, labia mea aperies 05:00
16. Pater noster – Ave Maria 07:05
17. Musæ Jovis 05:20

Cappella Amsterdam
Daniel Reuss, conductor