Cannons – Fever Dream (2022) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Cannons – Fever Dream (2022)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 38:28 minutes | 451 MB | Genre: Indie Pop, Electronic
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Columbia

Cannons create blissed-out dream pop that’s indebted both ’80s era synthwave, and Drive‘s cinematic, neon-soaked soundtrack, equally riveting as it is relaxing. Their recent success definitely comes as a surprise to the band, which is comprised of singer Michelle Joy and multi-instrumentalists Paul Davis and Ryan Clapham, but they’re mostly feeling blessed that they were allowed to quit their day jobs after signing with Columbia Records in 2020.

“To be able to make this our full-time job is absolutely our dream,” Joy tells Consequence over Zoom. “It was super, super surreal to have such success over the time period that we have had.”

The cinematic flair of Cannons’ sound comes from a couple inspirations points — of course, all three members share a love of film and the stylized sonic environments that come with it. But Joy and Davis find that the best compliment they can get is how their music can perfectly soundtrack a night drive through city lights. Songs like “Hurricane,” and the gorgeous “Tunnel of You” are active, widescreen trips, evoking both the desert, the beach, and every California vibe in between.

01. Cannons – Come Alive (03:21)
02. Cannons – Hurricane (03:01)
03. Cannons – Strangers (03:12)
04. Cannons – Tunnel of You (04:23)
05. Cannons – Bad Dream (03:22)
06. Cannons – Ruthless (03:25)
07. Cannons – Only You (03:22)
08. Cannons – Goodbye (04:22)
09. Cannons – Purple Sun (04:01)
10. Cannons – Afterglow (03:19)
11. Cannons – Lightning (02:35)

Michelle Joy, vocals
Paul Davis, bass
Ryan Clapham, guitar