Buzzcocks – Love Bites (Remastered) (2019) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Buzzcocks – Love Bites (Remastered) (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 38:51 minutes | 849 MB | Genre: Punk, New Wave
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Domino Recording Co

Buzzcocks’ seminal second album, lovingly restored and re-mastered from its original ¼ tapes for the first time since its September 1978 release.

Most bands would be content to release one genre-defining album in the span of a year. Not The Buzzcocks, however. Less than six months had passed since the release of their 1978 debut, the punk classic Another Music in a Different Kitchen, when they followed-up with Love Bites. The classic single “Ever Fallen In Love (With Someone You Shouldn’t’ve?)” crystallizes a sense of yearning, and it’s one of several songs that taps directly into this feeling; see also: “Late For the Train,” “Love is Lies,” and “Nostalgia.” The fuzzed-out guitar and taut rhythms on display sometimes go beyond what might be expected from the genre. “Operators Manual” in particular takes on a hazy, delirious aspect in which every component of the song is on the verge of reeling around the room. On the final three tracks, the band stretches things out a bit, maintaining a level of tension while regimenting the frenzied energy that had characterized Love Bites up until that point. This is a landmark album that inspired hundreds of punk bands over the years – but it also still feels fresh, forty years later. – Tobias Carroll

1. Real World
2. Ever Fallen in Love (With Someone You Shouldn’t’ve?)
3. Operators Manual
4. Nostalgia
5. Just Lust
6. Sixteen Again
7. Walking Distance
8. Love Is Lies
9. Nothing Left
10. E.S.P.
11. Late For The Train