Busch Trio & Miguel Da Silva – Dvorak Piano Quartets Nos. 1 & 2 (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Busch Trio & Miguel Da Silva – Dvořák Piano Quartets Nos. 1 & 2 (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:11:01 minutes | 1,23 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Alpha

Following a first recording devoted to Dvořák’s Dumky Trio and Trio no.3, Omri Epstein, Mathieu van Bellen and Ori Epstein are joined by one of their former teachers at the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel, the violist Miguel da Silva, a founder member of the famous Quatuor Ysaÿe. Together they pursue this series of the Czech composer’s complete chamber music with piano: there is an obvious close rapport between the musicians, who share with us their passion for this repertory and their pleasure in playing together. The Piano Quartet no.1 in D major op.23 of 1875 was one of the first works in which the young Dvořák, inspired by Schubert, laid the foundations of the compositional style which he would conserve for the rest of his life. Fourteen years later, he composed the Piano Quartet no.2 in E flat major op.87, completed under pressure from his publisher. This work, influenced by Brahms, is one of the masterpieces of his maturity. Two further recordings will complete this quadriptych of the Czech composer’s keyboard trios, quartets and quintets.


Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)

Piano Quartet No. 1 in D Major, Op. 23, B. 53
1 I. Allegro moderato 14:39
2 II. Andantino con variazioni 11:42
3 III. Finale. Allegretto scherzando 07:41

Piano Quartet No. 2 in E-Flat Major, Op. 87, B. 162
4 I. Allegro con fuoco 08:51
5 II. Lento 11:10
6 III. Allegro moderato, grazioso 07:23
7 IV. Finale. Allegro ma non troppo 09:35

Miguel Da Silva, viola
Busch Trio