Bryan Ferry – Avonmore (2014) [7Digital FLAC 24bit/44.1kHz]

Bryan Ferry – Avonmore (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44.1kHz | Time – 00:39:01 minutes | 490 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | © BMG Rights Management
Recorded: Studio One, London; 4th Street Recording; Saltlands Studio

Avonmore is the fourteenth studio album by the British singer Bryan Ferry, released in the United Kingdom on 17 November 2014.

The title of the album was named after the location of Ferry’s studio in London where it was recorded. The album was announced on 23 September 2014 with a preview of the song “Loop De Li”. The album was produced by Ferry with longterm collaborator Rhett Davies, who has produced several albums for Ferry and Roxy Music. The album also features Ferry regulars such as Fonzi Thornton, Nile Rodgers, Marcus Miller, and Johnny Marr (who co-wrote the track “Soldier of Fortune”). The album includes two cover versions, a rendition of Stephen Sondheim’s “Send In The Clowns” and a version of “Johnny and Mary”, originally by Robert Palmer. The latter track was a collaboration with the Norwegian DJ/producer Todd Terje and first appeared on Terje’s album It’s Album Time which was released earlier in 2014.

Avonmore peaked at number 19 on the UK Album Chart, and number 72 on the US Billboard 200.

On the album art of Avonmore, the record he released when he was a year shy of 70, Bryan Ferry showcases himself as a dashing young man — a portrait of an artist not as a glam trailblazer or distinguished elder statesman, but rather caught in an indeterminate time between the gorgeous heartbreak of Roxy Music’s Avalon and the meticulous solo work that came immediately in its wake. This is Ferry’s prime, a moment when his legacy was intact but yet to be preserved in amber. Avonmore consciously evokes this distinct period, sometimes sighing into the exquisite ennui of Avalon but usually favoring the fine tailoring of Boys & Girls, a record where every sequenced rhythm, keyboard, and guitar line blended into an alluring urbane pulse. Ferry isn’t so much racing to revive a younger edition of himself as much as laying claim to this particular strand of sophisticated pop, one that happens to feel a shade richer now when it’s delivered by an artist whose world-weariness has settled into his marrow but is yet to sadden him. This much is apparent on Avonmore’s closing covers, an oddly appropriate pairing of Stephen Sondheim’s “Send in the Clowns” and Robert Palmer’s “Johnny & Mary” that are both given gently meditative electronic makeovers, but much of the record explores the other end of the Ferry spectrum, where he’s making music to dance away the heartache. He’s no longer on the floor himself, preferring to watch with a bit of a bemusement, but this reserved romanticism suits him perfectly, particularly because Ferry and his co-producer Rhett Davies — a steady collaborator since 1999’s standards record As Time Goes By — place an emphasis on mood but not at the expense of the songs. Naturally, what is first alluring about Avonmore is its feel — it’s meant to be seductive — but the songs are what makes this record something more than a fling. -Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1 Loop De Li 4:16
2 Midnight Train 3:49
3 Soldier Of Fortune 4:25
4 Driving Me Wild 3:37
5 A Special Kind Of Guy 3:13
6 Avonmore 5:13
7 Lost 2:47
8 One Night Stand 5:05
9 Send In The Clowns 4:02
10 Johnny & Mary 6:47

Bryan Ferry: vocals, keyboards
Johnny Marr, Nile Rodgers, Jeff Thall, Neil Hubbard, Oliver Thompson, David Williams, Chris Spedding, Steve Jones, Jacob Quistgaard: guitar
Marcus Miller: bass
Tara Ferry, Cherisse Osei: drums
Richard White: alto saxophone
Frank Ricotti: percussions
Paul Beard: keyboards
Maceo Parker: alto saxophone
Ronnie Spector, Hannah Khemoh, Sewuse Abwa, Shar White, Michelle John: backing vocals