Bruce Springsteen – Western Stars – Songs From The Film (2019) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Bruce Springsteen – Western Stars – Songs From The Film (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 57:30 minutes | 1,19 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Columbia

‘Western Stars – Songs From The Film’ is the companion album to the Warner Bros. feature film, ‘Western Stars.’ The collection features each of the live performances captured in Bruce Springsteen’s directorial debut ‘Western Stars.’ The soundtrack includes every song from Springsteen’s most recent and critically-acclaimed studio album of the same name, as well as a cover of Glen Campbell’s “Rhinestone Cowboy.” Pulling the audio from the film co-directed by Bruce Springsteen and longtime collaborator Thom Zimny, ‘Western Stars – Songs From The Film’ is backed by a full band and orchestra, recorded live at Stone Hill Farm in Colts Neck, NJ.

Bruce Springsteen chose not to tour behind Western Stars, the lush album he released at the start of the summer of 2019. Instead, he decided to underscore its cinematic undercurrent by releasing a film documenting a performance of the album’s songs recorded with a full orchestra in an old barn. In the film, the songs are punctuated by stories and narration from Bruce, but the soundtrack album merely replicates the running order of the studio album, adding a cover of Glen Campbell’s “Rhinestone Cowboy” as an elegiac closer (its key line “there’s been a load of compromisin’/on the road to my horizon” could be sung by any of Bruce’s characters on Western Stars). Springsteen reportedly labored over Western Stars for years, so it’s not surprising that the arrangements on Western Stars: Songs from the Film essentially mimic those on the studio set; not only did he get those tunes right on record, he was out promoting the album. Because of this, Western Stars: Songs from the Film doesn’t pack a wallop, but it does have its own distinct vibe, largely due to his vocal performance. On the studio set, he can soar with grace, but here Springsteen seems a little weathered — a tonal texture that suits his bittersweet tunes, and also lends itself well to the occasional harmony from Patti Scialfa. Springsteen’s earthy phrasing helps ground these songs and makes for an intriguing, occasionally moving complement to the main album. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

01. Hitch Hikin’ (Film Version) (3:46)
02. The Wayfarer (Film Version) (4:47)
03. Tucson Train (Film Version) (3:23)
04. Western Stars (Film Version) (4:41)
05. Sleepy Joe’s Café (Film Version) (3:44)
06. Drive Fast (The Stuntman) (Film Version) (4:44)
07. Chasin’ Wild Horses (Film Version) (5:48)
08. Sundown (Film Version) (3:15)
09. Somewhere North of Nashville (Film Version) (2:03)
10. Stones (Film Version) (5:38)
11. There Goes My Miracle (Film Version) (4:02)
12. Hello Sunshine (Film Version) (4:25)
13. Moonlight Motel (Film Version) (4:03)
14. Rhinestone Cowboy (Film Version) (3:18)