Bruce Springsteen – We Shall Overcome (The Seeger Sessions) [American Land Edition] (1998/2006/2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Bruce Springsteen – We Shall Overcome (The Seeger Sessions) [American Land Edition] (1998/2006/2018) 
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:17:40 minutes | 902 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Columbia

The premise was simple. Bruce Springsteen invites a dozen or so New York City musicians-packing banjos, fiddles, accordions and the like-to his New Jersey farmhouse for a three-day hootenanny, and tape is rolling. The results are sublime, his 21st album featuring their versions of songs harvested from Springsteen’s dog-eared LPs by Pete Seeger. Not all written by Seeger, the songs are how the American folk icon interpreted them, and these organic recordings, with no rehearsals or overdubs, pay tribute with the simplicity and spontaneity he intended. It’s not hard to link Springsteen’s dissatisfaction with American politics to the protest song “We Shall Overcome” or even the Irish ballad “Mrs. McGrath,” where he alters the lyrics to read, “I’d rather have my son as he used to be/Than the King of America and his whole navy.” But the beauty of these Seeger Sessions are pieces that underscore the mood of the bandleader, which borders on down-home amusement: the bluegrass outlaw ballad “Jesse James,” the Dylanesque “Pay Me My Money Down” and the euphoric “Jacob’s Ladder,” a gumbo-and-whiskey-fueled romp that could pass for the closing hymn at the Church of Asbury Park. -Scott Holter

01. Old Dan Tucker
02. Jesse James (Just Ask)
03. Mrs. McGrath
04. O Mary Don’t You Weep
05. John Henry
06. Erie Canal
07. Jacob’s Ladder (Excerpt)
08. My Oklahoma Home
09. Eyes on the Prize
10. Shenandoah
11. Pay Me My Money Down
12. We Shall Overcome
13. Froggie Went a Courtin’
14. Buffalo Gals
15. How Can I Keep from Singing
16. How Can a Poor Man Stand Such Times and Live (Bruce Springsteen Version)
17. Bring ‘Em Home
18. American Land