Bruce Springsteen – Tunnel Of Love (1987/2015) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Bruce Springsteen – Tunnel Of Love (1987/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz | Time – 00:46:22 minutes | 890 MB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | ©  Columbia Records
Recorded: January – July 1987

Tunnel of Love is the eighth studio album by Bruce Springsteen released in 1987. In 1989, the album was ranked #25 on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the “100 Best Albums of the Eighties” while in 2003, the same magazine ranked it at #467 on their list of the 500 greatest albums of all time. In 1998, Q magazine readers voted Tunnel of Love the 91st greatest album of all time.

Just as he had followed his 1980 commercial breakthrough The River with the challenging Nebraska, Bruce Springsteen followed the most popular album of his career, Born in the U.S.A., with another low-key, anguished effort, Tunnel of Love. Especially in their sound, several of the songs, “Cautious Man” and “Two Faces,” for example, could have fit seamlessly onto Nebraska, though the arrangements overall were not as stripped-down and acoustic as on the earlier album. While Nebraska was filled with songs of economic desperation, however, Tunnel of Love, as its title suggested, was an album of romantic exploration. But the lovers were just as desperate in their way as Nebraska’s small-time criminals. In song after song, Springsteen questioned the trust and honesty on both sides in a romantic relationship, specifically a married relationship. Since Springsteen sounded more autobiographical than ever before (“Ain’t Got You” referred to his popular success, while “Walk Like a Man” seemed another explicit message to his father), it was hard not to wonder about the state of his own two-and-a-half-year marriage, and it wasn’t surprising when that marriage collapsed the following year. Tunnel of Love was not the album that the ten million fans who had bought Born in the U.S.A. as of 1987 were waiting for, and though it topped the charts, sold three million copies, and spawned three Top 40 hits, much of this was on career momentum. Springsteen was as much at a crossroads with his audience as he seemed to be in his work and in his personal life, though this was not immediately apparent. -William Ruhlmann

1. Ain’t Got You 2:11
2. Tougher Than the Rest 4:35
3. All That Heaven Will Allow 2:39
4. Spare Parts 3:44
5. Cautious Man 3:58
6. Walk Like a Man 3:45
7. Tunnel of Love 5:12
8. Two Faces 3:03
9. Brilliant Disguise 4:17
10. One Step Up 4:22
11. When You’re Alone 3:24
12. Valentine’s Day 5:10
All songs written and composed by Bruce Springsteen.

Roy Bittan – piano on “Brilliant Disguise”, synthesizers on “Tunnel of Love”
Clarence Clemons – vocals on “When You’re Alone”
Danny Federici – organ on “Tougher Than the Rest”, “Spare Parts”, “Two Faces”, and “Brilliant Disguise”
Nils Lofgren – guitar solo on “Tunnel of Love”, vocals on “When You’re Alone”
Patti Scialfa – vocals on “Tunnel of Love”, “One Step Up” and “When You’re Alone”
Bruce Springsteen – lead vocals, guitar, bass guitar, keyboards, harmonica, percussion
Garry Tallent – bass guitar on “Spare Parts”
Max Weinberg – drums on “All That Heaven Will Allow”, “Two Faces” and “When You’re Alone”; percussion on “Tougher Than the Rest”, “Spare Parts”, “Walk Like a Man”, “Tunnel of Love”, and “Brilliant Disguise”
James Wood – harmonica on “Spare Parts”

Note: 44kHz/16bit recordings (Sony PCM-1630), mastered to 96kHz/24bit.